Skip to main content
jump to navigation
The Official Site of Minor League Baseball
Below is an advertisement.

Scott Seator Foundation

In September of 1996, we lost a beloved friend when Scott Seator passed away following a two-year battle with cancer.

From late 1991 until his passing, Scott served as the Midland Angels Director of Communications. During that time, much of his work centered around kids. Scott was the heart and soul of our "Grand Slam Program," which touched the lives of literally thousands of elementary school children in the Permian Basin.

Throughout his battle with cancer (ironically, Scott suffered from a form of cancer usually found only in children), Scott's apartment and hospital room were adorned with "get well" wishes from the kids whose lives he had touched.

To those of us who knew and loved him, Scott will always be part of the Angels (now Rockhounds) family. There is no better nor more fitting way to honor our friend than through a foundation that funds youth-oriented programs. Because kids were so much a part of Scott's heart and life; kids are what the Scott Seator Foundation is all about.

All contributions are tax deductible, and should be directed to the following address:

The Permian Basin Area Foundation
c/o Scott Seator - Midland RockHounds Memorial Fund
P.O. Box 10424
Midland, TX 79702



Year Recipient Community Contribution
1991 Lee Velarde Midland Angels Groundskeeper
1992 Bill Williams Bill Williams Tire Center
1993 Chuck Swallow City of Midland
1994 Doc Dodson Midland High School
1995 Delnor Poss Midland College
1996 Ted Battles Midland Reporter-Telegram
1997 Randy Velarde MLB / Midland Lee HS
1998 Don Thorn Ector County Coliseum
1999 Jack Stephenson Midland High Basketball
  John Parchman Midland Lee Football
2000 Ken Marks Scharbauer Sports Complex
  Christi Dupriest Scharbauer Sports Complex
2001 John Wilkins Odessa Permian Football
2002 Bobby Burns Scharbauer Sports Complex
2003 Brad Swendig COM Aquatics
2004 Freddy & Virginia Ezell Midland United Girls Softball
2006 Johnny Oldham Jackalopes Youth Hockey
2007 Kevin Shelburne Midland Soccer Association
2008 Davis Corley MISD Athletic Director
2009 Steve Jumper MJBA
2010 Ron Jones Midland College Basketball
2012 Kyle Huckaba GMFL
2013 Gary Gaines Permian High School
2014 Greg McClendon Midland Christian
2015 Dale Redman  
2016 Ernie Johnson Midland Lee Baseball
2017 Mike Stevens Midland College