Skip to main content
jump to navigation
The Official Site of Minor League Baseball
Below is an advertisement.

Championship Trophy


The Watson Spoelstra Florida State League Championship Trophy is presented each year to the team that wins the postseason League Championship Series. Created in 1979, the exclusive trophy rotates to each new Championship team.

In 1973, Watson Spoelstra, a Detroit sportswriter approached Baseball Commissioner Bowie Kuhn with the idea of organizing a program to provide weekly chapel services for every Major League team. Kuhn granted approval, and Baseball Chapel was created as a non-profit organization. Today, chapel services are held for teams in the Majors, Minors and non-affiliated independent leagues -- more than 250 teams -- throughout the regular season, the playoffs and the World Series.

Baseball Chapel is committed to the spiritual development of players and all those connected with professional baseball through Christ-centered teaching and discipleship.