Skip to main content
jump to navigation
The Official Site of Minor League Baseball
Below is an advertisement.

About the Hammerheads

Hammerheads History

The Jupiter Hammerheads are the Class A Advanced affiliate for the Miami Marlins.

They have been in existence since 1998 and were originally an affiliate of the Montreal Expos through 2001. Beginning in 2002, they became an affiliate of the Miami Marlins organization. They are part of the South Division of the Florida State League along with the Charlotte Stone Crabs, Ft. Myers Miracle, Palm Beach Cardinals, St. Lucie Mets, and Sarasota Reds.

Other teams in the Florida State League include the Brevard County Manatees, Clearwater Threshers, Daytona Cubs, Dunedin Blue Jays, Lakeland Flying Tigers, and Tampa Yankees. The Hammerheads are owned by the Miami Marlins and are operated by Jupiter Stadium LTD.

Roger Dean Chevrolet Stadium also operates the Palm Beach Cardinals.

The Jupiter Hammerheads' home is Roger Dean Chevrolet Stadium, which was built in 1997 and opened in February 1998 for Spring Training. Roger Dean Stadium is currently the Spring Training home of the Miami Marlins and St. Louis Cardinals and the Florida State League home of the Jupiter Hammerheads and Palm Beach Cardinals.

The facility is the only one in the country which serves as home to two Minor League Baseball teams.

The Jupiter Hammerheads have had three players win top league honors in the teams history. Starter Nic Ungs was named Florida State League Pitcher of the Year in 2003. He was 8-3 with a 1.99 ERA in 17 starts with Jupiter.

First Baseman Logan Morrison was named Player of the Year in 2008. Morrison tore up the Florida State League, leading the league with a .332 average and posting 13 home runs and 74 RBI in 130 games.

Outfielder Kyle Jensen was named the FSL Player of the Year in 2011. In 108 games with Jupiter before being called up to Double-A Jacksonville, Jensen batted .309 with 22 home runs, 66 RBIs and 53 runs scored.

Alumni of the Hammerheads include 2003 National League Rookie of the Year Dontrelle Willis (2002), 2004 National League Rookie of the Year Jason Bay (2001), and 2008 American League Cy Young Award Winner Cliff Lee (2001). Some alumni with the Florida Marlins include Jeremy Hermida (2004), Josh Johnson (2004), Gaby Sanchez (2007),Chris Volstad (2007).

Other alumni throughout Major League Baseball include such players as Milton Bradley (1998), Jamey Carroll (1998), Scott Olsen (2004), Brandon Phillips (2001), Josh Willingham (2002), and Giancarlo Stanton (2009).