Skip to main content
jump to navigation
The Official Site of Minor League Baseball
Below is an advertisement.

Personnel and Staff

Southern League Directory

Mailing Address: 2551 Roswell Road, Suite 330, Marietta, GA 30062
Telephone: (770) 321-0400
Fax: (770) 321-0037
Email Address:
Years League Active: 1964-

President: Lori Webb
Vice President: Steve DeSalvo
Vice President-Emeritus: Peter Bragan, Jr.
Secretary-Treasurer: Lori Webb
Director of Operations: John Harris

Directors: Chuck Arnold (Biloxi), Jonathan Nelson (Birmingham), Jason Freier (Chattanooga), Reese Smith (Jackson), Ken Babby (Jacksonville), Steve DeSalvo (Mississippi), Mike Savit (Mobile), Sherrie Myers (Montgomery), Jonathan Griffith (Pensacola) and Doug Kirchhofer (Tennessee)

2017 Southern League Umpires: Skyler Shown (Chief), Brandon Butler, Benjamin Sonntag; Lew Williams (Chief), Matt Winter, Brock Ballou; Chase Eade (Chief), Alex Trujillo, Jose Navas; Travis Godec (Chief), Ryan Doherty, Jonathan Parra; Alex MacKay (Chief), Edwin Moscoso, Cody Clark

2017 Opening Date: April 6, 2017
Closing Date: September 4, 2017
Regular Season: 140 games (split schedule)
First Half Ends: June 18
Second Half Begins: June 22
Division Structure: North - Birmingham, Chattanooga, Jackson, Montgomery, Tennessee
South - Biloxi, Jacksonville, Mississippi, Mobile, Pensacola
Playoff Format: First-half division champions play second-half division champions in best-of-5 series. Winners meet in best-of-5 series for league championship.
2017 All-Star Game: June 20, in Pensacola, Florida
Roster Limit: 25 for entire season. All active players on roster for last day of regular season are eligible for postseason.
Player Eligibility Rule: No restrictions
Brand of Baseball: Rawlings
Statistician: Major League Baseball Advanced Media