Skip to main content
jump to navigation
The Official Site of Minor League Baseball
Below is an advertisement.


1968-1973 Memphis Blues (Mets)
1974 Victoria Toros (Mets)
1975-1990 Jackson Mets (Mets)
1991-1999 Jackson Generals (Astros)
2000-2004 Round Rock Express (Astros)
2005-present Corpus Christi Hooks (Astros)


From Blues to Hooks - A Brief History

2018 marks the 14th season of Hooks Baseball and the club's fifth campaign under the ownership of the Houston Astros. Following a 45-year hiatus, professional Texas League baseball returned to the Sparkling City in 2005 thanks to a series of events involving numerous groups and organizations. The Hooks, however, are not the same franchise as the one that called Corpus Christi home back in 1958 and 1959. The current franchise was born during the tumultuous decade of the 1960s, in a city well outside the state of Texas.

The history of the Hooks' franchise dates all the way back to 1968, when it got its start in the Texas League as the Memphis Blues. That club won the league crown twice, in 1969 and 1973. In 1974, the franchise moved to Victoria, Texas, where it captured the league title in its lone season as the Toros. The following year, 1975, the club found itself in Jackson, Mississippi, where it would remain for the next 25 seasons, first as the Mets (1975-1990) then as the Generals (1991-1999). The franchise enjoyed tremendous success on the field during that quarter-century, qualifying for the playoffs 13 times and winning the TL championship on five occasions (1981, 1984, 1985, 1993 and 1996). During one incredible stretch (1980-1987), Jackson dominated the league, making it to eight consecutive post-seasons.

Hall of Famer Nolan Ryan and his group stepped in following the 1998 season and acquired the franchise, moving it from Jackson to Round Rock in time for the 2000 season. True to the winning history of the franchise, the Round Rock Express, led by the likes of Morgan Ensberg and Roy Oswalt, powered their way to the Texas League title in that first season at The Dell Diamond. The Express, which shattered league attendance records throughout their five-year run, also qualified for post-season play in four of those five seasons.

The move of the franchise from Round Rock to Corpus Christi following the 2004 season was made possible whenthe owners of the Express, Ryan Sanders Baseball, acquired the Triple-A franchise in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada and announced their intention to move the club to Round Rock. That paved the way for the Double-A franchise to relocate to the Gulf Coast of Texas.

Led by outfielders Hunter Pence and Josh Anderson, the Hooks defeated Wichita three games to one to capture the league title in 2006. That marked the 10th championship in franchise history, which after the 2013 campaign spans 46 seasons.

The sale of the Hooks from Ryan-Sanders Baseball to the Astros was completed in October 2013. With a new stadium lease agreement in place, the franchise has guaranteed its presence in Corpus Christi thru 2034.

Under the direction of former managers Keith Bodie and Rodney Linares, the Hooks have qualified for the Texas League playoffs in four of the last six seasons.

In 13 seasons, the Hooks have graduated 101 players to the major leagues and have had another 55 players with big-league experience wear the Corpus Christi uniform. In all, a total of 436 men have played for the Hooks.