Skip to main content
jump to navigation
The Official Site of Minor League Baseball
Below is an advertisement.

The Thruway Cup

Thruway Cup Bisons

Thruway Cup
Battle for the Thruway

Each year, the International League's closest rivals compete for bragging rights of more than just position in the IL's North Division. Since 1998, the Thruway Cup Series has pitted the Buffalo Bisons, Rochester Red Wings and Syracuse Chiefs in a battle for the highway that connects them all together.

The three teams are separated by just 150 miles, and through the years have competed in some of the most memorable games in the history of the International League. The three clubs are also the most tenured teams in the IL, each with over 100 seasons under their belts.

Since the inception of the competition, the Buffalo Bisons adnd Rochester Red Wings have each won the Thruway Cup eight times. Syracuse has won the Cup four times.


Thruway Cup Titles

Championship Seasons
Buffalo Bisons 2000, 2001, 2002, 2004, 2006, 2007, 2012, 2013
Rochester Red Wings 1998, 2003, 2005, 2008, 2009, 2015, 2016, 2017
Syracuse Chiefs 1999, 2010, 2011, 2014


Retiring the Cup

Unique to this competition, it was agreed that any team winning the trophy three times would get to "retire" the cup and keep it as their own. Buffalo's back-to-back-to-back victories from 2000-2002 gave the team their first bit of hardware. After winning again in 2004 and 2006, the Bisons put together another victorious season in 2007, allowing them to make a permanent home for a second Thruway Cup trophy at Coca-Cola Field.

The third Thruway Cup was won by the Syracuse Chiefs with back-to-back victories in 2010 and 2011 and a triumph in 2014. However, it was the most contested Cup in series history, as Rochester won it in 2008 and 2009 and Buffalo in 2012 and 2013.

Rochester has won the fourth Thurway Cup by winning the title in 2015, 2016 and 2017. It's the first time a Thruway Cup team retired a Cup with no other team's name on it.


2017 Thruway Cup Standings

The Rochester Red Wings have clinched the 2017 Thruway Cup Series


*Rochester Red Wings
Syracuse Chiefs
Buffalo Bisons


2017 Thruway Cup Schedule & Results

Date Game
Date Game Result
April 8 Rochester at Syracuse
ROC, 10-0
June 23 Buffalo at Syracuse
April 9(1) Rochester at Syracuse
ROC, 6-2
June 24 Buffalo at Syracuse
April 9(2) Rochester at Syracuse
ROC, 10-4
June 25 Buffalo at Syracuse
April 10 Rochester at Buffalo June 26(1) Rochester at Buffalo
April 11 Rochester at Buffalo June 26(2) Rochester at Buffalo
April 12 Rochester at Buffalo June 27 Rochester at Buffalo
April 13 Rochester at Buffalo June 28 Rochester at Buffalo
April 14 Syracuse at Rochester
SYR, 3-2
June 29 Rochester at Buffalo
April 16(1) Syracuse at Rochester
ROC, 10-6
June 30 Syracuse at Buffalo
April 16(2) Syracuse at Rochester
SYR, 7-6
July 1 Syracuse at Buffalo
May 3(1) Rochester at Buffalo July 2 Syracuse at Buffalo
May 3(2) Rochester at Buffalo July 3 Syracuse at Buffalo
May 8 Buffalo at Syracuse July 7 Syracuse at Rochester
ROC, 9-3
May 9 Buffalo at Syracuse July 8 Syracuse at Rochester
ROC, 2-0
May 10 Buffalo at Syracuse July 9 Syracuse at Rochester
ROC, 8-2
May 15 Syracuse at Buffalo Aug. 4(1) Rochester at Syracuse
SYR, 2-1
May 16 Syracuse at Buffalo Aug. 4(2) Rochester at Syracuse
ROC, 3-2
May 17 Syracuse at Buffalo Aug. 5 Rochester at Syracuse
SYR, 9-4
May 18 Syracuse at Buffalo Aug. 6 Rochester at Syracuse
ROC, 8-4
June 8 Syracuse at Rochester
SYR, 3-2
Aug. 25 Buffalo at Rochester
June 9 Syracuse at Rochester
ROC, 9-3
Aug. 26 Buffalo at Rochester
June 10 Syracuse at Rochester
SYR, 8-6
Aug. 27 Buffalo at Rochester
June 11 Syracuse at Rochester
ROC, 6-5
Sept. 1 Buffalo at Syracuse
June 19 Buffalo at Rochester Sept. 2 Buffalo at Syracuse
June 20 Buffalo at Rochester Sept. 3 Buffalo at Syracuse
June 21 Buffalo at Rochester Sept. 4 Buffalo at Syracuse
June 22 Buffalo at Syracuse