Print  Print © 2009 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

Vitters on Unique Streak
05/19/2009 5:16 PM ET
Peoria Chiefs third baseman and top Chicago Cubs prospect Josh Vitters carries a unique streak into the Chiefs series finale at Beloit on Tuesday night. Vitters has collected three hits in four straight games and has homered in three straight. According to Kevin Goldstein of Baseball Prospectus, only 18 Major League players have had three straight games of at least three hits and one home run since 1955.

Vitters began his streak Thursday night at O'Brien Field in game two of a double header against Quad Cities when he was 3-for-3. After the Chiefs were rained out on Friday, Josh went 3-for-4 with a homer and two singles at Beloit Saturday night as he keyed Peoria's 6-5 comeback win. On Sunday he collected two doubles and a homer in his first three at-bats for six straight hits before finished 3-for-5 as the Chiefs lost 9-6. In Monday night's 10-6 win he singled and scored in the first, doubled home a run in the second and hit a two run blast in the fourth. Over the last four games, Vitters is 12-for-17 with three home runs, three doubles, six runs scored and six RBI. He is hitting .422 in the month of May (27-for-64) with five homers, five doubles, a .734 slugging percentage and a 1.174 OPS. If Vitters homers on Tuesday night at Beloit he will tie the Chiefs record of homering in four straight games, set last August by current Chiefs first baseman Rebel Ridling.

According to research by Baseball Prospectus, only 18 Major League players have had three straight games with at least three hits and one home run over the last 45 years. The list includes Hall of Famers Duke Snider (1955) and Dave Winfield (1983), likely Hall of Famer Ken Griffey Jr. (1994) and Hall of Fame candidates Fred McGriff (1994), Jose Canseco (1994), Larry Walker (1995) and Barry Bonds (2000). Others who have accomplished the feat and are still active in the Majors include current Cubs outfielder Alfonso Soriano (2005), Bill Hall (2006), Johnny Damon (2007), Carlos Lee (2003) and Evan Longoria (2008). Willie Horton (1965), Rico Carty (1967), Mike Greenwell (1988), Kelly Gruber (1990), Rondell White (1999) and Jeff DaVanon (2003) round out the list.

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.