Print  Print © 2009 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

Topps, MiLB name Players of the Year
11/05/2008 1:19 PM ET
ST. PETERSBURG, Fla.--San Diego Padres' farmhands Kyle Blanks, Dan Robertson and Jaff Decker have been named the Topps Player of the Year in their respective leagues. The Atlanta, Florida and Texas organizations each have a pair of winners, and 11 farm systems are represented in all. The annual George M. Trautman Awards are presented in each of the 16 domestic Minor Leagues by the Topps Company of New York, in conjunction with Minor League Baseball.

Lou Montanez led the Eastern League with a .335 batting average, 26 homers and 97 RBIs to become only the fifth player to win the Triple Crown in the circuit's history. Other winners who were the top run producers in their league include Mat Gamel (Southern), Mitchell Moreland (Midwest), Curt Smith (Appalachian) and Roberto Lopez (Pioneer).

Jim Negrych (Carolina), Logan Morrison (Florida State), Miguel Fermin (NY-Penn), Robertson (Northwest), Smith and Lopez were league batting champions. Fermin is the only other winner, besides Montanez, who led his league in home runs.

Topps salutes the top performances throughout Minor League Baseball, including monthly awards and all-star teams in each classification.

ILJeff BaileyPAW.3012575
PCLNelson CruzOAK.3423799
ELLou MontanezBOW.3352697
SLMat GamelHUN.3291996
TLKyle BlanksSA.32520107
CALCarlos SantanaIE.3231496
CARJim NegrychLYN.370562
FSLLogan MorrisonJUP.3321374
MWLMitchell MorelandCLI.3241899
SALJason HeywardROM.3231152
NYPMiguel FerminJAM.3471747
NWLDan RobertsonEUG.377345
APPCurt SmithJCC.378849
PIORoberto LopezORE.4001472
AZLJaff DeckerPAD.352534
GCLRobert BrooksATL.329320

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.