Skip to main content
jump to navigation
The Official Site of Minor League Baseball
Below is an advertisement.
Lorenzo Cain of the AZL Brewers was named the MVP of the Arizona Summer League after hitting .356 and ranking among the league leaders in several offensive categories.
The Arizona Summer League championship is a one-game playoff between the first and second-half champions. In 2005, the Arizona Giants won both halves of the season and therefore no one-game playoff was held. The Giants finished 21-7 in the first half and 18-10 in the second half to claim the crown in the Arizona Summer League.
2005 Player of the Year: Lorenzo Cain, Arizona Brewers
2005 Manager of the Year: Reuben Escalera, Phoenix Athletics
2005 Arizona Summer League All-Stars.
Regular Season Stats
Individual Batting | Individual Pitching
Team Batting | Team Pitching
Postseason Stats
Team Batting | Team Pitching
Individual Batting | Individual Pitching

Post Season Leaders
Batting : AVG | HR | RBI
Pitching : W | ERA | SO
Giants claim AZL Championship
The Arizona League Giants, led by All-Star outfielders Ariel Nunez and Antoan Richardson, won both halves of the AZL season with a combined 39-17 mark, catapulting the Giants to the 2005 Arizona League Championship. Nunez hit a league-best .367 and Richardson batted .321, but the pair were a real terror on the base paths as they combined to steal 68 bases. Robert Grace, a 2005 21st round pick, went 6-1 with a 2.85 ERA, while 2004 44th rounder Tom Gornati was 6-0 with a 1.30 ERA.