Skip to main content
jump to navigation
The Official Site of Minor League Baseball
Below is an advertisement.
Chito Rodriguez (Quintana Roo Tigres)
Mexican League

Cuauhtemoc (Chito) Rodriguez is one of the most winning, tenured and dedicated executives in the Mexican Baseball League.

He spent 19 years with the Tecolotes de Nuevo Laredo, five as General Manager and 14 as Vice-President. The team made the playoffs 15 times and appeared in five Final Series, winning two Mexican League titles (1977 and 1989).

In 1995, Rodriguez became Vice-President of the Tigres de Quintana Roo. Currently, he is Executive President of the Tigres. During his tenure, the Tigres have made the playoffs each year and won four Mexican League championships (1997, 2000, 2001 and 2005).

Chito's work has stood out in large part to his excellent player recruitment and proactive advancement for the Mexican baseball player. Always having their welfare and best interests as his top priority, he has played a key role in the development of many players who have reached the Major Leagues.

His value has been recognized by Mexican League officials and colleagues who appointed him Chairman of the Board of the Mexican League for two consecutive terms, the maximum tenure allowed. He has also been member of the National Teams Committee since 2003.

Rodriguez is the first Hispanic person honored as the King of Baseball (2011) since California-born New York Yankees legend Lefty Gomez was chosen in 1986. Rodriguez is the only living designee from Mexico to be named the King of Baseball. The other was the late Alejo Peralta in 1967 when the MiLB Winter Meetings were held in Mexico City. Mr. Peralta was Commissioner of the Mexican League, a seat that has been held empty since his passing in 1997.

Chito is currently on the ballot for the Mexican Hall of Fame. He is a member of the Laredo Latin American International Sports Hall of Fame, the Tamaulipas State Hall of Fame and The Nuevo Laredo Hall of Fame.

He is serving his second term on the Minor League Baseball Board of Trustees, having also been on the BOT from 2006-08.