Skip to main content
jump to navigation
The Official Site of Minor League Baseball
Below is an advertisement.
Sing Along with the R-Phils This Season
Team to hold National Anthem tryouts and multiple music programs
02/28/2012 2:28 PM ET
The National Anthem is just one of the many musical programs going on in 2012.
The National Anthem is just one of the many musical programs going on in 2012. (Ralph Trout)
New Page 1

(Reading, Pa.)---Baseball season is around the corner and that means it is also time to get in tune with the Reading Phillies. Throughout the season, the team will be welcoming musical performers of all ages to participate in a variety of theme nights and programs.

At the R-Phils First Annual Ticket Hootenanny on Saturday, February 25, over 60 performers braved snowy weather and auditioned to sing the National Anthem at the 222 Showcase on April 3. While Peggy Keller of Ephrata was selected to sing on April 3, those interested in singing the National Anthem can send an audition recording to Todd Hunsicker at todd@readingphillies.com. Reading Phillies sponsors hold the first right of refusal for the National Anthem for sponsored games, but those submitting examples will be placed on a list of potential anthem performers. They will be contacted as dates become available.

Returning for its second season, The String Tree Community Music Showcase aims to highlight talented youth musicians, vocalists, and dancers, while raising awareness o the importance of music education in the community. On these nights, all performers receive a free ticket to the game and the opportunity to showcase their talents in front of a live audience on the Weston Center Winning Smiles Stage courtesy of The String Tree. The dates for the Community Music Showcase nights are:

•    Monday, April 9
•    Tuesday, April 10
•    Wednesday, April 11
•    Sunday, April 22
•    Tuesday, April 24
•    Wednesday, April 25
•    Monday, May 14
•    Tuesday, May 15
•    Sunday, May 20
•    Tuesday, May 29
•    Wednesday, May 30
•    Sunday, June 10
•    Sunday, June 17
•    Sunday, July 15
•    Sunday, August 5
•    Sunday, August 26

FirstEnergy Stadium will also host three Celebration of Music Nights this season thanks to Reading Musical Foundation, Zeswitz Music, 830 AM WEEU, and 69 News Berks Edition. On Sunday, May 6 and Tuesday, May 8, all musicians that bring an instrument will receive a free ticket, along with the opportunity to perform “Take Me Out to the Ballgame” on the field during the pregame on Instrumental Music Night. There will also be a special Vocal Music Night on Sunday, June 10, where all chorus students in kindergarten through 12th grade receive a free ticket, as well as the chance to sing the Star Spangled Banner prior to the game.

As part of Operation Replay, brought to you by the Reading Musical Foundation and Zeswitz Music, anyone that donates a used instrument at the game will also receive a free ticket.

Dates for the Community Music Showcases are filling up quickly, so the Reading Phillies encourage interested performers to contact Todd Hunsicker at 610-370-BALL x.206 or todd@readingphillies.com to reserve a date or if they have any questions.

 


The Reading Phillies will kick off the 2012 season with a doubleheader on Thursday, April 5th at FirstEnergy Stadium against the Portland Sea Dogs (Boston Red Sox). 2012 Season Tickets and Mini-Plans, as well as the brand-new 6 for $66 plan, are available by phone at 610-370-BALL, online at www.readingphillies.com, or in-person at the R-Phils Ticket Office located at FirstEnergy Stadium.

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.
MiLB.com Comments
Today on MiLB.com