Skip to main content
jump to navigation
The Official Site of Minor League Baseball
Food Fight - Vote for the tastiest Minor League concessions treats. Cast your votes
Below is an advertisement.
PCL announces All-Star Game picks
Cats' Godfrey to start, Storm Chasers' Myers to lead lineup
06/28/2012 2:14 PM ET
Godfrey had made 11 Minors starts (2.11 ERA) and four in the Majors (6.16).
Godfrey had made 11 Minors starts (2.11 ERA) and four in the Majors (6.16). (Aleksi Lepisto/
One day after the International League revealed its All-Star roster, a list littered with top prospects and Minor League veterans enjoying strong seasons, the Pacific Coast League made its own statement.

It was announced Thursday that Sacramento River Cats starting pitcher Graham Godfrey will take the ball first when the two leagues play the annual Triple-A exhibition on July 11 in Buffalo, N.Y. Godfrey is 7-0 with a 2.11 ERA in 11 starts for the Cats; this is his third season pitching for the Oakland A's top affiliate.

The PCL squad comprises 30 total ballplayers: 13 "elected" by club managers and general managers, media members and through online fan voting; 17 "selected" by the league office; and at least one from each of the 16 clubs. The Omaha Storm Chasers, Albuquerque Isotopes and Reno Aces each send a game-high four players to participate. Among the Aces are starting infielders Jake Elmore and Ryan Wheeler, who lead the circuit in batting (.390) and RBIs (72) respectively.

Also featured will be potential star-in-the-making Wil Myers.'s No. 14 overall prospect leads the Minors with 25 home runs; he has hit 12 since joining the Storm Chasers. Oklahoma City RedHawks veteran baseman Mike Hessman, who is 34 and a dozen years older than Myers, leads the PCL with 23 long balls and will start at first base.

2012 Pacific Coast League All-Star Team
Tim Federowicz* C Albuquerque LAD
Guillermo Quiroz C Tacoma SEA
Jake Elmore* 2B/SS Reno ARI
Adeiny Hechavarria* SS Las Vegas TOR
Mike Hessman* 1B Oklahoma City HOU
Luis Jimenez* 3B Salt Lake LAA
Jimmy Paredes 2B Oklahoma City HOU
Clint Robinson 1B Omaha KC
Josh Vitters 3B Iowa CHC
Ryan Wheeler* 1B/3B Reno ARI
Joey Butler OF Round Rock TEX
Kole Calhoun OF Salt Lake LAA
Adam Eaton* OF Reno ARI
Matt McBride** OF Colorado Springs COL
Wil Myers* OF Omaha KC
Daniel Robertson OF Tucson SD
Jonathan Albaladejo RHP Reno ARI
Chad Beck RHP Las Vegas TOR
Brandon Dickson** RHP Memphis STL
John Ely RHP Albuquerque LAD
Graham Godfrey* RHP Sacramento OAK
Eric Hacker* RHP Fresno SF
Jim Henderson RHP Nashville MIL
Tommy Hottovy LHP Omaha KC
Tom Koehler RHP New Orleans MIA
Ryan Verdugo LHP Omaha KC
Josh Wall* RHP Albuquerque LAD
Field Staff
Marty Brown Manager Las Vegas TOR
Blaise Ilsley Coach Memphis STL
Russ Morman Coach Fresno SF
Heath Townsend Athletic Trainer Colorado Springs COL
* indicates a selection via club managers and general managers, media members and through online fan voting. ** Andrew Brown (Colorado Springs, OF), Barret Browning (Memphis, LHP) and Luis Cruz (INF, Albuquerque) have been replaced by Dickson and McBride. Brown and Cruz were elected. Landon Powell (Oklahoma State, C) and Heath Hembree (Fresno, RHP) will not play and will not be replaced.

Andrew Pentis is a contributor to Follow him on Twitter at AndrewMiLB. This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs. Comments
Today on