Skip to main content
jump to navigation
The Official Site of Minor League Baseball
Below is an advertisement.
FSL awards twelve scholarships
One applicant from each team in the circuit receives $1,500
08/03/2012 3:53 PM ET
DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. -- The Florida State League Scholarship Committee in a telephone conference today awarded twelve (12) $1,500 educational scholarships to applicants from each team in the league.

The Committee awarded the scholarships after a review of the materials submitted by each applicant. The award is based both on financial need and grade point average of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale. Students eligible for this award must be an employee of, or the child or grandchild of an employee of the participating club, and must be at least a high school junior by the 2012 fall term.

The Miami Marlins have sponsored this program for thirteen (13) years and have contributed a total of $124,500. Florida State League president Chuck Murphy stated, "This program is one of the best things we do in the league and I congratulate the directors and general managers on their dedication and enthusiasm in administering this program."

The purpose of the program is to send a message that an education is key to success in life.

The scholarship winners will be guests of the Miami Marlins in pregame ceremonies on Sunday, Aug. 12, 2012 at 1:10 p.m.

2012 winners and their club
Ms. Ellen Hyland - Bradenton Marauders
Mr. Michael Congrove - Brevard County Manatees
Ms. Katrina Figueroa - Charlotte Stone Crabs
Mr. Joseph Zakshevsky - Clearwater Threshers
Mr. David Walkovic - Daytona Cubs
Mr. Jonathan Glass - Dunedin Blue Jays
Mr. Ryan Gravel - Fort Myers Miracle
Mr. Yogi Brewington Jr. - Jupiter Hammerheads
Ms. Shelby Johnson - Lakeland Flying Tigers
Mr. Camden Hearn - Palm Beach Cardinals
Ms. Kayla Pitoniak - St. Lucie Mets
Mr. Jake Sullivan - Tampa Yankees Comments
Today on