Skip to main content
jump to navigation
The Official Site of Minor League Baseball
Bisons clip Chiefs in rain-shortened game
Buffalo beats Syracuse, 4-2, in five-plus innings
06/08/2014 3:13 PM ET
Destin Hood tripled and picked up two hits on Sunday. (Rick Nelson)

The Syracuse Chiefs, the Triple-A affiliate of the Washington Nationals, lost a rain-shortened, 4-2 affair to the Buffalo Bisons on Sunday afternoon from Coca-Cola Field. The game was called with two outs and the Chiefs batting in the top of the sixth inning.

Syracuse (36-27) grabbed the game's first run against right-hander Liam Hendriks in the second inning. With one out, Destin Hood lined a triple to right field. Catcher Jhonatan Solano followed with a ground-ball single to right through a drawn-in infield, giving the Chiefs a 1-0 lead. The RBI was Solano's team-high 34th.

Buffalo (30-30) retaliated with a pair of solo homers in the fourth inning. Left fielder Brad Glenn started the frame with a home run to center field against Taylor Hill. Three batters later, catcher Mike Nickeas launched a breaking ball over the left-field fence, giving the Bisons a 2-1 lead.

The Bisons grabbed two more runs in the fifth. Jared Goedert singled to start the inning, and Dan Johnson followed with a double. Two batters later, designated hitter A.J. Jimenez singled into left field, scoring Goedert for a 3-1 lead. After an out, Nickeas followed with a single to center field off the glove of shortstop Emmanuel Burriss, driving in Johnson for a 4-1 advantage.

Syracuse rallied in the rain in the top of the sixth inning. Brock Peterson and Hood started the inning with singles, though Hendriks then induced a double-play groundout from Solano. Center fielder Brian Goodwin followed with an infield single, scoring Peterson and slicing the lead to 4-2. However, the grounds crew immediately tarped the field after the run scored.

The Chiefs and Bisons will move their four-game set to Syracuse on Monday night at 7:00. Syracuse right-hander Josh Roenicke and Buffalo right-hander Radhames Liz are the scheduled starters.

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs. Comments

Related Coverage

From Blogs