Skip to main content
  • Akron RubberDucks
  • Altoona Curve
  • Binghamton Rumble Ponies
  • Bowie Baysox
  • Erie SeaWolves
  • Harrisburg Senators
  • Hartford Yard Goats
  • New Hampshire Fisher Cats
  • Portland Sea Dogs
  • Reading Fightin Phils
  • Richmond Flying Squirrels
  • Trenton Thunder
PBATs honors top athletic trainers in Minors
Reinker, Johnson, Saunders, Nelson, Spence among league winners
08/20/2015 5:25 PM ET
Elizabethton Twins trainer Steve Taylor was among 16 honored for their talents around the Minors in 2015.

CHICAGO -- President Mark O'Neal of the Professional Baseball Athletic Trainers Society (PBATS) today announced the winners of the Minor League Athletic Trainers of the Year Awards for the 2015 baseball season. These awards are given annually to one member of each of the 16 leagues in Minor League Baseball, as well as one award for the Dominican Summer League. An additional award is given to the Minor League Coordinator of the Year.

"I am very proud to announce PBATS' Minor League Athletic Trainers of the Year," O'Neal said. "These athletic trainers made an impact on their entire league and stood out in 2015 as the best at their craft in their respective leagues. I am honored that they all showed the dedication and professionalism it took to keep their players on the field. This group represents the bright future that lies ahead for PBATS."

All 16 league winners, the Dominican Summer League winner and the Minor League Coordinator of the Year will now be eligible for the prestigious Minor League Athletic Trainer of the Year award voted upon by the full membership of PBATS. That award will be given at the 2015 Major League Baseball Winter Meetings in Nashville, Tenn.

The Major League Athletic Training Staff of the Year will also be awarded at the 2015 MLB Winter Meetings.

Last season, Todd Tomczyk, Ben Potenziano and Jeremiah Randall of the Pittsburgh Pirates took home the award. Like the Minor League Athletic Trainer of the Year award, the Major League award is voted on by the full membership of PBATS.

2015 Professional Baseball Athletic Trainers Society winners
League Trainer Org.
International Scott Johnson Chicago White Sox
Pacific Coast Brian Reinker Los Angeles Angels
Eastern TJ Saunders Detroit Tigers
Southern Shane Nelson Chicago Cubs
Texas Greg Spence Los Angeles Angels
Florida State Kyle Utne Cincinnati Reds
California Travis Tims Oakland Athletics
Carolina James Stone Kansas City Royals
Midwest Rafael Freitas Arizona D-backs
South Atlantic Trek Schuler Baltimore Orioles
New York-Penn Dan Martin St. Louis Cardinals
Northwest Reggie Mungrue Toronto Blue Jays
Appalachian Steve Taylor Minnesota Twins
Pioneer John Duff Colorado Rockies
Arizona Toby Williams Chicago Cubs
Gulf Coast Troy Hoffert Philadelphia Phillies
Dominican Summer Martiza Castro San Diego Padres
Coordinator Joe Benge Tampa Bay Rays