Print  Print © MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

Bourjos named PCL Rookie of the Year
08/31/2010 2:58 PM ET
COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - Salt Lake centerfielder Peter Bourjos, currently a member of the Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim, has been named the Pacific Coast League's Rookie of the Year for the 2010 season.

Bourjos, 23, hit .314 (130-for-414) for the Bees this season, collecting 13 home runs, 13 doubles and 12 triples in 102 games played. He was successful in 27-of-32 stolen base attempts, scored 85 runs and was widely considered one of the finest defensive outfielders in the PCL. Despite his early August call-up to the Major Leagues, Bourjos remains the league's co-leader in triples and is one of three players with double digit totals in each of the three extra-base hit categories.

The 6-1, 180-pound right-handed hitter finished his first Triple-A season with a flourish, setting modern PCL records with 56 hits and 37 runs scored in July. Over the course of that record-setting month, Bourjos batted .438, tallied 92 total bases and generated an OPS (on-base plus slugging) of 1.193 in 28 games played. The 56 hits were three more than any professional player has recorded in any month since Major League Baseball Advanced Media began tracking statistics in 2005.

Drafted in the 10th round of the 2005 first-year player draft out of Notre Dame Prep High School in Scottsdale, Ariz., Bourjos has enjoyed a smooth ascent to the big leagues over the course of his five professional seasons. He earned mid-season All-Star selections in the California League in 2008 and Texas League in 2009, and was named the No. 97 prospect in the game by Baseball America prior to the 2010 campaign.

The PCL postseason awards are given based on the voting of the league's field managers, general managers, broadcasters and media. The field manager and general manager from each of the 16 PCL clubs submit one ballot, while the broadcasters and media from each of the 16 markets submit a second ballot, for a total of 32 ballots.

Bourjos received 10 Rookie of the Year votes, with Russ Mitchell of Albuquerque coming in second with five votes. Other players receiving votes included Mark Trumbo of Salt Lake, Michael Kirkman of Oklahoma City, Chris Carter of Sacramento, Greg Halman of Tacoma, Ernesto Frieri of Portland and teammates Darwin Barney and Jay Jackson of Iowa.

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.