Print  Print © MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

Wieland bests Ross, 'Riders in Game 1 thriller
09/07/2011 10:00 PM ET
Three San Antonio pitchers combined for a two-hit shutout in the Missions' 3-0 victory over the RoughRiders in Game 1 of the Texas League South Division Series Wednesday night at Nelson Wolff Municipal Stadium.

Former RoughRider Joe Wieland blanked the 'Riders over seven innings for the win. The right-hander scattered two hits and struck out eight. Wieland allowed only two runners to reach second base.

Nick Vincent set down Frisco (0-1) in order in the eighth inning. Then, Miles Mikolas followed suit with a perfect ninth to earn the save.

Frisco starter Robbie Ross struck out a career-high 12 in six innings. The southpaw also held the Missions hitless until the sixth. However, that hit proved to be costly.

Jaff Decker walked to lead off the inning. After a pair of strikeouts and a stolen base, Cody Decker laced an RBI double down the left field line to put the Missions on top for good.

San Antonio (1-0) added some insurance in the eighth inning. Vince Belnome and Carlos Sosa each drove home a run with a single.

Out of the RoughRiders' bullpen, Tyler Tufts worked a 1-2-3 seventh inning. Both Corey Young and Johan Yan were charged with a run during San Antonio's two-run eighth.

Offensively, Engel Beltre and Mitch Hilligoss each mustered a hit. Jared Bolden was the only other RoughRider to reach base, and he did it with a walk.

The 'Riders and Missions play Game 2 of this series Thursday night at 7:05. Left-hander Ben Snyder, who led the 'Riders in wins with 11, will start for Frisco against righty Simon Castro. Pre-game coverage along the RoughRiders Baseball Network begins at 6:35.

QUICK HITS: The RoughRiders drop to 4-5 in playoff series openers, and the club has never won a postseason series when losing Game 1...The 'Riders are now 17-15 in playoff games...Including the regular season, San Antonio is 56-15 at home in 2011.

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.