Print  Print © MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

MiLB - PDC & The Relationship With MLB
09/18/2012 3:54 PM ET
The National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues, now known as Minor League Baseball comprises teams that are independently owned and operated from Major League Baseball franchises.

The Las Vegas 51s Professional Baseball team is owned and operated by the Stevens Baseball Group.

The New York Mets Major League Baseball team is owned and operated by Fred Wilpon and his Sterling Equities partners.

Minor League Teams are then directly "affiliated" with one Major League team through a standardized Player Development Contract (PDC).

Minor and Major League teams may enter into a PDC for a two-or four-year term and may reaffiliate at the expiration of a PDC term.

The purpose of the PDC is to develop players available to play in the Major Leagues on demand.

The manager, coaching staff, athletic trainer, strength coach and players of the Triple-A affiliate are employed by the Major League affiliate through the PDC. (Las Vegas 51s manager, coaching staff and players are employed by the New York Mets, beginning in the 2013 season).

There is a total of 30 Triple-A cities that comprise the 14-team International League and the 16-team Pacific Coast League...therefore the 30 Major League teams have PDC's with the 30 Triple-A teams.

History: Las Vegas Professional Baseball franchise - member of the Pacific Coast League since 1983:

Las Vegas Stars (1983-2000, 18 seasons) - Triple-A affiliate of the San Diego Padres, 1,227-1,329 (.480), 7 playoff appearances & two PCL Championships (1986 & 1988).
Las Vegas 51s (2001-08, 8 seasons) - Triple-A affiliate of the Los Angeles Dodgers, 561-586 (.489), 1 playoff appearance.
Las Vegas 51s (2009-12, 4 seasons) - Triple- A affiliate of the Toronto Blue Jays, 287-288 (.490), 0 playoff appearances.

ALL-TIME RECORD: 2,075-2,203 (.485)

New York Mets and Las Vegas, announced on Sept. 17, 2012, a new PDC for two seasons (2013-14).

    Triple-A Franchises and Affiliates:

Pacific Coast League
Albuquerque Isotopes (Los Angeles Dodgers)
Colorado Springs Sky Sox (Colorado Rockies)
Fresno Grizzlies (San Francisco Giants)
Iowa Cubs (Chicago Cubs)
Las Vegas 51s (New York Mets)
Memphis Redbirds (St. Louis Cardinals)
Nashville Sounds (Milwaukee Brewers)
New Orleans Zephyrs (Miami Marlins)
Oklahoma City RedHawks (Houston Astros)
Omaha Storm Chasers (Kansas City Royals)
Reno Aces (Arizona Diamondbacks)
Round Rock Express (Texas Rangers)
Sacramento River Cats (Oakland A's)
Salt Lake Bees (L.A. Angels of Anaheim)
Tacoma Rainiers (Seattle Mariners)
Tucson Padres (San Diego Padres)

International League
Buffalo Bisons (Toronto Blue Jays)
Charlotte Knights (Chicago White Sox)
Columbus Clippers (Cleveland Indians)
Durham Bulls (Tampa Bay Rays)
Gwinnett Braves (Atlanta Braves)
Indianapolis Indians (Pittsburgh Pirates)
Lehigh Valley IronPigs (Philadelphia Phillies)
Louisville Bats (Cincinnati Reds)
Norfolk Tides (Baltimore Orioles)
Pawtucket Red Sox (Boston Red Sox)
Rochester Red Wings (Minnesota Twins)
Scranton/Wilkes-Barre Yankees (New York Yankees)
Syracuse Chiefs (Washington Nationals)
Toledo Mud Hens (Detroit Tigers)

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.