Print  Print © MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

Pre-Season Prep Baseball Stars Announced
12/07/2012 6:44 PM ET

CORPUS CHRISTI, Texas - A total of 31 players from 19 area schools comprise this year’s South Texas Pre-Season High School All-Star Team.  The student-athletes will be recognized at the Ninth Annual South Texas Winter Baseball Banquet on Wednesday, January 23, at the Omni Bayfront Hotel in downtown Corpus Christi. 

The large-school division (Classes 4A and 5A) features 15 players from eight schools.  The Moody Trojans lead the way with four representatives on the honor squad.  Last season, the Trojans advanced to the 4A regional semi-finals. 

Thirteen of the 15 players selected are new to the pre-season lineup.  Senior outfielders Preston Dorsey of Calallen and Eric Perez of King are the only players who repeat from last year’s unit.  The Wildcats and Mustangs placed two each on the team, as did Carroll and Flour Bluff.  Gregory-Portland, Port Lavaca Calhoun and Victoria East are also represented.    

The small-school division (1A/2A/3A/private) honors 16 players from 11 schools.  Perennial 3A powers Sinton and Robstown head up the roster with three players apiece.  The Bulldogs of Orange Grove are the only other school with multiple representatives (2), including senior pitcher Chris Solano, the lone three-time honoree for either division.

Joining Solano in the small group of returnees from last year’s squad are fellow pitchers Travis Quintanilla of Refugio and Joseph Rubio of Bishop, along with Robstown’s Brandon Garza at utility.  In addition to those already mentioned, other schools on the list include Falfurrias, George West, Ingleside, John Paul II, Port Aransas, and West Oso.    

Votes were received from 28 high school coaches and selected media throughout South Texas.    

Tickets for the January 23 event are priced at $50 and are available by contacting the Hooks at 361-561-HOOK.  Proceeds from the banquet benefit Hooks Help.

The 2013 South Texas Pre-Season High School All-Star Softball Team will be released on Monday, December 10. 

The 2013 South Texas Pre-Season High School All-Star Baseball Team:

Large School Division

Zach Cruz (Sr), Port Lavaca Calhoun
Michael Garcia (Jr), Victoria East
Travis Geiser (Sr), Gregory-Portland
Kenneth Saenz (Jr), Moody
Justin Sanchez (Sr), King

Michael Cantu (Jr), Moody

First Base:
Brandon Burns (Sr), Carroll

Second Base:
Lee May Gonzalez (Sr), Calallen

Third Base:
Will Mendiola (Sr), Flour Bluff

Rene Pineda (Jr), Carroll

Preston Dorsey (Sr), Calallen
J.D. Garcia (Sr), Moody
Eric Perez (Sr), King

Designated Hitter:
Johnny Luby (Jr), Flour Bluff

Ricky Gonzalez (Jr), Moody

Small School Division

Donivan Lopez (Jr), Sinton
Travis Quintanilla (Jr), Refugio
Joseph Rubio (Sr), Bishop
Chris Solano (Sr), Orange Grove

Lorenzo Vela (Sr), Falfurrias

First Base:
Jimmy Goff (Sr), Ingleside

Second Base:
Trey Gallegos (Sr), Sinton

Third Base:
Derek Cantu (Sr), George West
Jonathan Martinez (Jr), John Paul II

Michael De Los Santos (Jr), Robstown

Rayce Gatlin (Sr), Orange Grove
Victor Leal (Sr), Robstown
Tyler Pate (Sr), Port Aransas
Derrick Sullivan (Jr), West Oso

Designated Hitter:
Gerad Galloway (Sr), Sinton

Brandon Garza (Sr), Robstown

A total of 90 area high school players received votes in this year’s balloting.  The following is a complete list of all the other players who received votes for the 2013 South Texas Pre-Season High School All-Star Team in both divisions.

Others receiving votes (listed in alphabetical order):
Large School Division
Zach Alaniz (Soph), Carroll
Trey Alvarado (Sr), Port Lavaca Calhoun
Aric Benavides (Sr), Miller
Koby Bynum (Soph), Victoria West
Christian Cantu (Sr), Calallen
Devian Cantu (Sr), Port Lavaca Calhoun
Cody Cavazos (Sr), Victoria West
Mickie Erwin (Sr), Gregory-Portland
Rodney Flores (Sr), Miller
Nathan Freitag (Soph), Tuloso-Midway
Tanner Geiser (Jr), Gregory-Portland
Tyler Hass (Jr), Flour Bluff
Andrew Heitkamp (Sr), Carroll
Mason Hellums (Soph), Tuloso-Midway
Chris Martinets (Sr), Tuloso-Midway
Ruben Martinez (Jr), Gregory-Portland
Matthew Merino (Jr), Ray
Kolton Mims (Sr), Flour Bluff
Jonathan Ortega (Soph), Victoria East
Trey Thormahlen (Sr), Victoria East
Mason Tipton (Jr), Victoria East
Blake Staff (Sr), Victoria West
Todd Wilkinson (Sr), King
Benny Zamudio (Sr), King

Small School Division
Gilbert Alegria, Jr. (Jr), Falfurrias
Ray Allen (Sr), Rockport-Fulton
Michael Carrasco (Sr), Falfurrias
Colton Carroll (Sr), Refugio
Tracker Conn (Jr), Sinton
John Flores (Jr), Mathis
Justin Flores (Jr), Taft
Michael Garcia (Soph), West Oso
Jason Gonzales (Jr), Mathis
John Michael Gonzales (Sr), Falfurrias
Efrain Gonzalez (Sr), Robstown
Victor Gonzalez (Jr), Aransas Pass
Narcisso Hiracheta (Sr), Taft
Garrett Horner (Jr), Woodsboro
Rex Hoyt (Sr), Rockport-Fulton
Tony Kawczynski (Sr), Rockport-Fulton
Andrew Kutzfey (Sr), George West
Scott Longoria (Sr), Taft
Justin Lopez (Jr), Orange Grove
Connor Lowrie (Sr), John Paul II
Jose-Luis Martinez (Sr), West Oso
Frank McNiff (Sr), Incarnate Word Academy
Cristian Moreno (Sr), Incarnate Word Academy
Riley Pash (Sr), Rockport-Fulton
Justin Quinonez (Jr), John Paul II
Justin Rivera (Sr), John Paul II
Caleb Roberts (Sr), Port Aransas
Jake Roberts (Jr), Port Aransas
Isaiah Rodriguez (Jr), Orange Grove
J.W. Shipp (Sr), Refugio
Cameron Sternadel (Sr), Refugio
David Sturgeon (Jr), Taft
Colton Thomas (Sr), Mathis
Jose Tobar (Sr), West Oso
Victor Vera IV (Sr), Bishop

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.