Print  Print © MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

Pre-Season Prep Softball Stars Unveiled
12/10/2012 5:49 PM ET

CORPUS CHRISTI, Texas - A total of 30 players from 15 area schools comprise the 2013 South Texas Pre-Season High School All-Star Softball Team.  The student-athletes will be recognized at the Ninth Annual South Texas Winter Baseball Banquet, presented by the Corpus Christi Caller-Times and ClearChannel Radio, on Wednesday, January 23, at the Omni Bayfront Hotel.    

The large-school division (Classes 4A and 5A) features 15 players from seven schools and is led by the contingents from Moody and Gregory-Portland, with each school claiming four spots on the roster.  Senior second baseman Delilah Pacheco of Moody and senior catcher Myrissa Sanchez of Gregory-Portland are two of three returnees from last year’s inaugural edition of the softball honor squad.  Tuloso-Midway senior pitcher Destiny Rodriguez rounds out the small group of veterans to be recognized.

The Cherokees placed two players on the All-Star team, as did the Carroll Tigers.  Flour Bluff, Ray and Victoria East slotted one player each.

The small-school division (1A/2A/3A/private) honors 15 players from eight schools.  Santa Gertrudis Academy, a 2A regional finalist for a third consecutive season last year, leads the way with four selections.  Senior pitcher Carla Noel and senior second baseman Danielle Gonzalez repeat from 2012 when the Lions also placed four on the squad.  Other small-school returnees include Aransas Pass senior pitcher Journey Cole and John Paul II senior first baseman Allison Leija.

Refugio, a 2A regional quarter-finalist last year, checks in with three representatives on this year’s All-Star team.  Aransas Pass and George West follow with two each.  Other schools finding their way onto the list include Rockport-Fulton, Sinton and Woodsboro.    

Votes were received from 23 high school coaches and selected media throughout South Texas.    

Tickets for the January 23 event are priced at $50 and are available by contacting the Hooks at 361-561-HOOK. 

The 2013 South Texas Pre-Season High School All-Star Softball Team:

Large School Division
Alyssa Acuna (Jr), Carroll
Amie Cisneros (Jr), Gregory-Portland
Brittany Martinez (Soph), Moody
Destiny Rodriguez (Sr), Tuloso-Midway

Renae Palacios (Sr), Moody
Myrissa Sanchez (Sr), Gregory-Portland

First Base:
Brenda Leal-Flores (Jr), Carroll

Second Base:
Delilah Pacheco (Sr), Moody

Third Base:
Arabella Acosta-Cantu (Soph), Gregory-Portland

Jessica Mendez (Sr), Moody

Ashley Elizondo (Sr), Tuloso-Midway
Jodie Garcia (Sr), Victoria East
Katherina Morin (Sr), Ray
Mackenzie Payne (Jr), Gregory-Portland

Michelle Revels (Soph), Flour Bluff

Small School Division
Cecilia Bauer (Sr), Refugio
Journey Cole (Sr), Aransas Pass
Carla Noel (Sr), Santa Gertrudis
Jamie Wilson (Jr), Woodsboro

Trinidad Barrera (Sr), Aransas Pass

First Base:
Allison Leija (Sr), John Paul II

Second Base:
Danielle Gonzalez (Sr), Santa Gertrudis

Third Base:
Michelle Rosas (Sr), Refugio

Celeste Castillo (Soph), Santa Gertrudis

Jordan Hensley (Jr), George West
Shelby McCabe (Jr), Sinton
Sierra Olvera (Soph), Santa Gertrudis

Designated Player:
Kate Jimerson (Sr), George West

Morgan Klaevemann (Jr), Refugio
Katelynn Mann (Sr), Rockport-Fulton

A total of 83 area high school players received votes in the balloting.  The following is a complete list of all the other players who received votes for the 2013 South Texas Pre-Season High School All-Star Softball Team in both divisions.

Others receiving votes (listed in alphabetical order):
Large School Division
Alyssa Bates (Jr), Beeville
Calleigh Campbell (Jr), Flour Bluff
Taylor Castillo (Sr), Beeville
Roxanne Curiel (Sr), Tuloso-Midway
Lexie Elkins (Sr), Victoria East
Amanda Gonzales (Sr), Beeville
Alex Gonzalez (Jr), Carroll
Sarah Longoria (Sr), Carroll
Kristina Nuncio (Sr), King
Alisha Quintero (Jr), Victoria East
Monica Salazar (Sr), Victoria East
Alexa Vasquez (Soph), Tuloso-Midway

Small School Division
Rebecca Almaraz (Jr), Hebbronville
Agusta Avila (Jr), Hebbronville
Ashley Barraza (Sr), Woodsboro
Raye Bednorz (Jr), George West
Caitlyn Butler (Jr), Incarnate Word Academy
Chelsea Cuellar (Sr), Odem
Johnni Escamilla (Soph), Three Rivers
Emily Flores (Soph), Taft
Monika Flores (Sr), Taft
Stefanie Garcia (Sr), Sinton
Alyza Garza (Jr), Falfurrias
Rebecca Garza (Jr), Odem
Alex Gauntt (Jr), Incarnate Word Academy
Missy Gilbreath (Sr), Port Aransas
Mirabella Gonzalez (Sr), John Paul II
Hayley Hartzog (Jr), Odem
Haley Hinojosa (Sr), Three Rivers
Desi Lopez (Sr), John Paul II
Savannah Lopez (Sr), Three Rivers
Chelsea Martinez (Sr), Taft
Toni Martinez (Jr), Woodsboro
Alex Morin (Soph), Sinton
Jordan Morris (Soph), Port Aransas
Rachel Munoz (Sr), Aransas Pass
Savannah Ortiz (Jr), Port Aransas
Amber Pantoja (Sr), West Oso
Kristy Jo Patton (Jr), Falfurrias
Samantha Pena (Jr), Hebbronville
Taylor Perez (Jr), Woodsboro
Logan Polasek (Sr), Rockport-Fulton
Kristin Ramirez (Jr), Hebbronville
Christiana Romero (Sr), John Paul II
Veny Rzana (Sr), Odem
Marley Snider (Sr), George West
Cyndle Swaim (Jr), Incarnate Word Academy
Dana Thompson (Sr), Aransas Pass
Marlyna Tobar (Sr), West Oso
Gabby Trejo (Jr), Incarnate Word Academy
Tamara Trevino (Jr), Falfurrias
Elizabeth Valdez (Sr), West Oso
Heather Villarreal (Soph), Falfurrias

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.