Print  Print © MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

Bucs' Lambo owns MiLB homer lead
08/07/2013 9:32 PM ET

ST. PETERSBURG, Fla. -- Indianapolis Indians outfielder Andrew Lambo hit two solo home runs last night to bring his season total to 31 and put him in the lead for the Joe Bauman Home Run Award, presented by Musco Sports Lighting.

The top home run hitter in the domestic-based Minor Leagues at the end of the regular season, which concludes in about three and a half weeks, wins the Joe Bauman Trophy and a check representing $200 for each one he hit.

The 24-year-old Lambo began the season with the Double-A® Altoona Curve and hit 14 homers with the club, before earning a promotion to Triple-A®.

He entered play last night tied with Hickory Crawdads second baseman Ryan Rua and Oklahoma City outfielder George Springer with 29 homers. Tennessee's Javier Baez, Buffalo's Mauro Gomez and Joey Gallo, who hit 26 home runs for Hickory before missing about a month with an injury and who is currently on a rehabilitation assignment with the Rangers in the Arizona League, each have 28.

Matt Fields (Northwest Arkansas), Ernesto Mejia (Gwinnett) and Miguel Sano (New Britain) are four behind Lambo with 27 apiece.

Classification leaders, provided they are not the overall winner, receive a $500 cash award. Gomez has a one homer lead over Mejia in Triple-A. Chris Colabello (Rochester) and Zach Walters (Syracuse) trail Gomez by four with 24 each. Danny Dorn (Toledo) and Brock Peterson of Memphis sit five back with 23.

Fields has a four homer cushion in Double-A over Xavier Scruggs of Springfield and Kiel Roling of Tulsa. Kyle Parker, Roling's teammate, is six behind Fields with 21.

Rua leads Gallo by three home runs in Class A®. Scott Schebler (Rancho Cucamonga) and Adam Brett Walker II (Cedar Rapids) each have 24.

Justin Chigbogu also homered twice last night to take the lead from Jacob Scavuzzo, his Ogden Raptors teammate, in the Short Season-A™/Rookie® classification. Chigbogu's 11 homers are one better than Scavuzzo and two more than Sam Bates (Burlington) and Taylor Brennan (Helena). Five players have eight and another nine each have seven. Chigbogu and Scavuzzo play in the Pioneer League, which will be the last circuit to end its regular season when it does so on Sept. 8.

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.