Print  Print © MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

NYPL announces 2013 Hall inductees
08/13/2013 5:00 PM ET

The New York-Penn League (Class A) has announced the inductees for the New York-Penn League Hall of Fame Class of 2013.

The purpose of the New York-Penn League Hall of Fame is to recognize individuals for their overall accomplishments or contributions to the league on the field of play or in an administrative role.

"As the oldest continuously operated Class A league in professional baseball, the list of players, coaches, field managers, general managers, and owners reads like a Who's Who of Baseball," says Ben Hayes, the President of the New York-Penn League.

Yearly Hall of Fame inductions occur at the site of the league's annual All-Star Game.

The implementation of the New York-Penn League Hall of Fame is occurring in three phases. The first phase (2012) elected all current Baseball Hall of Fame members who played in the League. The second phase (2013) elects League personnel and team officials. The third phase (2014 and beyond) will elect individuals as nominated and voted on by New York-Penn League member teams.

The following individuals comprise the New York-Penn League's 2013 Hall of Fame Class:

Robert Julian: Served as President of the NYPL from 1992 until 2001. He presided over numerous franchises' shifts to larger markets during his presidency and saw league attendance almost triple from 684,000 fans in 1992 to 1.6 million fans in 2001. The league's annual individual award for Community and Baseball Service is named in his honor.

Vince McNamara: McNamara was named president of the New York-Penn League in 1948 and served as head of the loop for 37 years. At the time he took over the presidency, the league, like many other small leagues around the country, was beset by a host of problems. His leadership helped increase attendance and stabilize the league as a whole.

In 1972, the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues paid tribute to McNamara for his years of service by saluting him as the "King of Baseball." One of the league's three divisions is named in his honor as is the award for the Outstanding Club in the NYPL.

Sam Nader: Nader served the city of Oneonta, N.Y. as a member of common council, and later as mayor, after helping to bring baseball back to Oneonta with the Oneonta Red Sox. He purchased the newly named Oneonta Yankees in 1967. Nader served in many roles and held titles as an owner and executive with the team until selling the franchise in 2008. He was an integral part of the league in his over 40 years as an owner.

It was Nader who made the decision to make Damaschke Field organized baseball's only dry stadium. The New York-Penn League Championship Trophy is named after his wife Alice and the yearly NYPL Staff Member of the Year Award is named in his honor.

Leo Pinckney: Pinckney served as a sportswriter for the [i]Auburn Citizen[/i] for 37 years. In 1958, he spearheaded a successful fundraising campaign to get Auburn's city team into the New York-Penn League. Buoyed by the community's enthusiastic response, he convinced the New York Yankees to sign on as the fledging club's Major League affiliate.

Pinckney served as the Auburn Yankees' first president and was later named the president of the New York-Penn League, a position he held from 1984 until 1992.

The 1998 recipient of Minor League Baseball's prestigious "King of Baseball" award, Pinckney was a tireless advocate for the sport he loved. One of the league's three divisions is named in his honor as well as the league's Promotional Award given annually to the team deemed best in the areas of promotions.

Robert Stedler: Stedler is considered a "founder" of the New York-Penn League. While a sports editor at the Buffalo Evening News, it was mainly through his efforts that the then PONY League was formed with teams from Pennsylvania, Ontario, and New York. He served as League President for 10 years. One of the league's three divisions is named in his honor as well as the Stedler Award, given yearly to the player in the league deemed likely to go the farthest in pro baseball. In addition, the yearly individual award for the Executive of the Year is named after him.

Induction ceremonies are scheduled to take place during pregame ceremonies for the 2013 New York-Penn League All-Star Game in Norwich, Connecticut, home of the Connecticut Tigers, on August 13.