2013 Mayor's Trophy Recipient - Wilmer Flores

Infielder Wilmer Flores is the recipient of the 2013 Mayor's Trophy

By Jim Gemma / Las Vegas 51s | August 30, 2013 11:15 AM ET

           LAS VEGAS: The Las Vegas 51s professional baseball team, in their 31st season as a member of the Pacific Coast League (PCL) and Triple-A affiliate of the New York Mets, announced today the 2013 season awards for the players.

           51s President/COO Don Logan announced the following awards: Mayor's Trophy: Infielder Wilmer Flores; Most Valuable Player: Infielder/Outfielder Eric Campbell; Most Valuable Pitcher: Left-hander Justin Hampson; Community Service Award: Catcher Kai Gronauer.                  

           The Mayor's Trophy has been given annually since 1983 and is voted on by the fans. The previous winners of the Mayor's Trophy:

1983: Harry Dunlop, manager                                                         1998: George Arias, INF       

1984: Rick Lancellotti, OF                                                                     1999: Rico Rossy, INF

1985: John Kruk, 1B/OF - PCL batting champion                          2000: Greg LaRocca, INF

1986: Tim Pyznarksi, INF                                                                     2001: Chris Prieto, OF

1987: Steve Garcia, INF                                                                         2002: Luke Allen, OF

1988: Joey Cora, INF                                                                             2003: Joe Thurston, 2B

1989: Jerald Clark, OF                                                                      2004: Rick Bell, 3B               

1990: Joey Cora, INF                                                                             2005: Cody Ross, OF

1991: Jose Mota, INF                                                                            2006: Delwyn Young, OF

1992: Jim Vatcher, OF                                                                           2007: John Lindsey, INF

1993: Brian Johnson, C                                                                   2008: John Lindsey, INF

1994: Luis Lopez, INF                                                                           2009: Randy Ruiz, INF

1995: Ira Smith, OF                                                                                2010: J.P. Arencibia, C

1996: Rico Rossy, INF                                                                          2011: David Cooper, INF

1997: Doug Dascenzo, OF                                                      2012: Adeiny Hechavarria, SS


            Wilmer Flores (Mayor's Trophy): Flores appeared in 107 games at Triple-A Las Vegas and batted .321 (136-for-424) and leads the team in doubles (36), home runs (15), RBI (86), runs scored (69), multiple-hit games (37) and extra-base hits (55). He compiled a season-high 13-game hitting streak (June 19 - July 2) and batted .368 (21-for-57) over that stretch and was a season-best 5-for-6, two doubles, RBI vs. Fresno on July 2 and was 4-for-5, 2 HR, 4 RBI vs. Tucson on July 11. He was named to the PCL all-Star Team on July 2 and was promoted to the Mets on August 6. Flores recorded his first Major League hit against Colorado on August 7 (2-for-4, double, 3 RBI) and his first Major League home run was at Arizona on August 11 (2-for-4). He has appeared in 18 games for the Mets and is batting .250 (16-for-64) with three doubles, home run and 11 RBI.

             Eric Campbell (Most Valuable Player): The infielder/outfielder has appeared in 116 games and is batting .307 (101-for-329) with 23 doubles, 3 triples, 8 home runs, 63 RBI and leads the team in games played, walks (64), stolen bases (12-for-16), HBP (10) and leads the PCL in On Base Percentage (.430).

            Campbell has compiled 30 multiple-hit games and recorded a season-high 9-game hitting streak (July 12-25) and batted .520 (13-for-25) over that stretch. He has played 24 games at first base, 28 games at third base and 54 games in the outfield. He has provided many clutch hits throughout the season and delivered two walk-off hits in extra innings over a three-day span against Fresno on August 21 and 23 at Cashman Field.

             He batted .538 (7-for-13), four doubles against New Orleans (August 12-15); batted .556 (5-for-9) vs. Tucson (July 11-13) and batted .500 (5-for-10) vs. Reno (July 22-25). He was 3-for-4, HR, 3 RBI vs. Round Rock on May 10; 3-for-3, 2 RBI at Omaha (May 16); 3-for-4, walk, three-run HR at Fresno (June 3) and 2-for-4, double, 4 RBI at Tucson (June 19).

             Justin Hampson (Most Valuable Pitcher): Hampson leads the PCL in appearances (62) and has been one of the most consistent pitchers on the staff. He has posted a 6-3 record with a 3.29 ERA and has recorded two saves (vs. Fresno, July 3 & at Colorado Springs, August 26). He has allowed 75 hits and struck out 56 batters in 65.2 innings pitched. He has posted victories against Fresno (April 8), Albuquerque (May 11), Colorado Springs (June 15), Tucson (July 11), Sacramento (July 27) and Salt Lake (August 20).

             Kai Gronauer (Community Service Award): Gronauer is the recipient of the community service award. He has participated in various kids events, school visits, team autograph sessions, charity functions and pre-game events throughout the season.

            Gronauer has appeared in 16 games for Triple-A Las Vegas and is batting .265 (9-for-34) with three doubles, home run and 4 RBI. He belted his first Triple-A home run (two-run HR) at Tacoma on June 28 and was 1-for-2, walk, RBI double off left-hander Dontrelle Willis at Salt Lake on August 18. He was also 2-for-4, double vs. Round Rock on May 8.

            The most valuable player and most valuable pitcher were chosen by the 51s coaching staff and the community service award was chosen by the 51s front office.

            The 51s, under manager Wally Backman, will conclude the 2013 regular season with a four-game homestand over the Labor Day weekend (Friday-Monday, August 30 - September 2) against the Tucson Padres, Triple-A affiliate of the San Diego Padres.


This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More