Futures Game to feature 11 former Appy League players

By Betsy Haugh | July 9, 2017 11:48 AM ET

11 former Appalachian League players will compete in Sunday afternoon's Futures Game as part of the 2017 MLB All-Star Game festivities. Four players will compete for the U.S. squad, while seven will suit up for the World team.

The list of former Appalachian League standouts on rosters for the 2017 Futures Game includes two players who competed in the advanced-rookie league in 2016 - Vladimir Guerrero Jr. (Bluefield) and Estevan Florial (Pulaski). Both are currently playing at the Single-A level.

RHP Mike Soroka and OF Ronald Acuna - a pair of former Danville Braves - both played in the Appalachian League in 2015, along with Greeneville RF Kyle Tucker. 

Three players who competed in the Appalachian League in 2014 are on the rosters - LHP Foster Griffin (Burlington), RHP Brent Honeywell (Princeton), and SS Nick Gordon (Elizabethton). 

Former Kingsport Mets SS Amed Rosario (2013) and C Tomas Nido (2012), along with former Bluefield Blue Jays LHP Jairo Labourt (2013), help round out the list of former Appalachian League players on the two rosters.

Complete List of Former Appalachian League players on 2017 Futures Game rosters

U.S. Roster (4):
LHP Foster Griffin - Burlington, 2014; Current team: Northwest Arkansas Naturals (AA, Kansas City Royals)
SS Nick Gordon - Elizabethton, 2014; Current team: Chattanooga Lookouts (AA, Minnesota Twins)
RHP Brent Honeywell - Princeton, 2014; Current team: Durham Bulls (AAA, Tampa Bay Rays)
RF Kyle Tucker - Greeneville, 2015; Current team: Corpus Christi Hooks (AA, Houston Astros)

World Roster (7):
OF Ronald Acuna - Danville, 2015; Current team: Mississippi Braves (AA, Atlanta Braves)
CF Estevan Florial - Pulaski, 2016; Current team: Charleston RiverDogs (A, New York Yankees)
3B Vladimir Guerrero, Jr. - Bluefield, 2016; Current team: Lansing Lugnuts (A, Toronto Blue Jays)
LHP Jairo Labourt - Bluefield, 2013; Current team: Erie SeaWolves (AA, Detroit Tigers)
C Tomas Nido - Kingsport, 2012; Current team: Binghampton Rumble Ponies (AA, New York Mets)
SS Amed Rosario - Kingsport, 2013; Current team: Las Vegas 51s (AAA, New York Mets)
RHP Mike Soroka - Danville, 2015; Current team: Mississippi Braves (AA, Atlanta Braves)

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More