Bats drop series finale 3-1 to Toledo

Pedro Villarreal took the spot start for the Bats and pitched four innings, and got the no-decision. ((c)PATRICK L.PFISTER/

By Ryan Ritchey / Louisville Bats | July 9, 2014 10:13 PM ET

LOUISVILLE, Ky. - Louisville drops the series finale to Toledo by a final score of 3-1 on Wednesday night at Louisville Slugger Field. The Bats move to 11-8-4 in series this season.

Making his second spot-start of the season was right-hander Pedro Villarreal. He pitched four innings, allowed one earned run on four hits, one walk and struck out five. He earned the no-decision as he left the game in a 1-1 tie.

In his first start this season, Villarreal also pitched four innings, allowed one run and got the no-decision.

For the first time ever at Louisville Slugger Field, Rule 7.13 was put into play. Rule 7.13, in the MLB rulebook, states that the catcher cannot block the plate without having the ball in his glove. In the scorebook it goes down as an error on the catcher, but Donald Lutz will get an assist on the play, his seventh of the season.

Jordon Lennerton was the Mud Hen that would be credited with the run on the play, giving the Mud Hens a 3-1 lead. That lead would hold as they defeated the Bats by that score on Wednesday.

The left-hander Duane Below (7-3, 4.10) took the ball for Toledo. He pitched six innings, allowed a run on seven hits, walked one and struck out three. This is Below's second win against the Bats this season. He earned the win on April 14 at Louisville Slugger Field for his first win of the season.

Infielder Rey Navarro saw a couple of streaks come to an end on Wednesday. His 39 game on-base streak and 16 game hitting-streak came to an end after an 0-for-4 night at the plate. His 16 game hitting-streak was the longest since Zack Cozart had a 17 gamer in 2011.

Louisville (48-45) will welcome Lehigh Valley (44-48) to Louisville Slugger Field for the first time this season. Right-hander Josh Smith (9-2, 4.08) will square off with right-hander Sean O'Sullivan (3-6, 4.13) in the first of four on Thursday at 7:05 p.m.

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More