Baysox Announce Opening Day Roster

April 4, 2013 8:08 AM ET

BOWIE, Md. - The Bowie Baysox announce today the 2013 Opening Day Roster. The roster features 18 players who spent time in Bowie during the past two seasons and some of the top prospects in the Orioles organization. Kevin Gausman, Mike Wright and Xavier Avery will all begin the season with the Baysox.

The starting rotation is expected to include RHP Mike Wright, LHP Jake Pettit, RHP Kevin Gausman, RHP Eddie Gamboa, and RHP Julio Rodriguez. Four of the five pitchers appeared with the Baysox in 2012.

Returning position players include Caleb Joseph, Buck Britton, Zelous Wheeler, Johnny Ruettiger, Aaron Baker, Ty Kelly, Brian Ward, Kyle Hudson and Xavier Avery. Bowie's bullpen also features a number of familiar faces, as RHP Tim Bascom, RHP Sean Gleason, LHP Jason Gurka, LHP Chris Petrini and RHP Clay Schrader return to the Baysox.

The roster includes five players who were not in the Orioles organization last season and signed during the offseason as free agents. Those players include RHP Tom Boleska, RHP Julio Rodriguez, RHP Zech Zinicola, catcher Luis Martinez and outfielder Kyle Hudson.

Baysox Baseball - We'll Knock Your 'Sox Off. The Baysox open the 2013 season on the road and begin the 20th season of baseball at Prince George's Stadium Thursday, April 11. To keep up with Baysox news during the offseason, visit

View More