Cal League announces 2018 Hall of Fame class

Alomar, Morgan, Sakata, Jackson to be inducted on June 19

By California League | May 21, 2018 1:00 PM

Oxnard, California -- In 1941, the Santa Barbara Saints defeated the Anaheim Aces 7-3 in what would be the first of many California League games.  Since that day, thousands of players and personnel have played in the League with over 2,700 making it to the Major Leagues. 

To honor those players and individuals who have helped make the Cal League one of the premier Leagues in Minor League Baseball, the League is announcing the third class of the Cal League Hall of Fame. 

The four honorees below will be inducted during the All-Star break in Lancaster, Ca on June 19, 2018.  There will be a Hall of Fame Luncheon and then the Home Run Derby and All-Star game in the evening between All-Stars from the North and South Divisions.

Roberto Alomar -- The 2011 Major League Baseball Hall of Famer played for the 1986 Reno Padres where he won the batting title with a .346 average.  During his 17-year MLB career, Alomar was a 12 time All-Star, 4 time Silver Slugger, a 10 time Gold Glove winner, and won 2 World Series Titles while with the Toronto Blue Jays. His 10 Gold Gloves are a record for a Second Baseman.  Alomar is a lifetime .300 hitter with 210 HRs, 474 Stolen Bases, and 1,134 RBIs. 

Joe Morgan - Joe Morgan was the first player in the history of MLB to steal 60 bases and hit 25 HRs in a season.  As a member of the Modesto Colts in 1963, Morgan hit .263 with 21 steals in only 45 games.  He was inducted into MLB's Hall of Fame in 1990.  During his 22-year career, Morgan was an All-Star 10 times, won 5 Gold Gloves, and 2 World Series Rings as part of the Cincinnati Reds in 1975 & 76.  He was also named the NL MVP in those years.

Lenn Sakata -- Lenn Sakata holds many Cal League managerial records including: Most wins (757), most years managed in the League (11), most consecutive winning seasons (8), most Cal League Championships (3), most Playoff Appearances (8), and most Playoff games won (33). Sakata broke into the Big Leagues with the Milwaukee Brewers in 1977 and was a member of the Baltimore Orioles 1983 World Championship team. Sakata was selected as one of the 50 greatest sports figures in Hawaiian history by CNN Sports Illustrated and is a member of the Hawaii Sports Hall of Fame.

Larry Jackson -- Larry Jackson had possibly the greatest single season for a pitcher in Cal League history for the 1952 Cal League Champs Fresno Cardinals.  He went 28-4 (tied for most wins in a single Cal League season) with a 2.85 ERA.  He also had 30 complete games that year with 351 strikeouts (which is the current Cal League record).  In 1955 Jackson began a 14-year MLB career where he was named an All-Star 5 times.  He led MLB in wins with 24 during the 1964 season. After baseball, Jackson served four terms in the Idaho House of Representatives.

Only those not currently active players were eligible to be selected to the Cal League Hall of Fame. 

"The League is extremely proud to announce the selection of these individuals to the Hall of Fame," said Cal League President, Charlie Blaney. "From World Series Champs to perennial All-Stars to record breaking managers, this class represents the diversity of legends that have made this league so great over the years."

The Cal League Hall of Fame is a virtual one on the league website:  The new class will be available to view on the day of the induction ceremony, June 19, 2017.

For more information on the Cal League please follow the League on social media:

- Facebook: California League of Professional Baseball

- Twitter: @CalLeague1

- Instagram: california_league   

About the Cal League:

The California League was founded in 1941 by a combination of Major League and Pacific Coast League clubs.  The League currently has 8 teams and plays a 140-game season starting in April with the regular season wrapping up on Labor Day.  Over the years, the California League has produced 19 Hall of Famers, 19 MVP winners, 21 CY Young recipients, and has 35 Rookie of the Year awards.  The California League has become the premier Class "A" League in Minor League Baseball. See today's Minor League stars on their way to becoming tomorrow's Major League legends taking the field for the Inland Empire 66ers, Lake Elsinore Storm, Lancaster JetHawks, Modesto Nuts, Rancho Cucamonga Quakes, San Jose Giants, Stockton Ports and Visalia Rawhide.

View More