Charleston Baseball Hall of Fame Announces Class of 2019 Inductees

Mike Montei, Kiki Cuyler, and Coach Tony Cadden enshrined in 17th annual class

By Charleston Baseball Hall of Fame / Charleston RiverDogs | July 22, 2019 3:30 PM

CHARLESTON, S.C. - The Charleston Baseball Hall of Fame has announced the inductees for the Class of 2019, naming players Mike Montei and Kiki Cuyler, and Coach Tony Cadden, to the 17th annual Hall of Fame class.


Cadden and Montei were selected by fan voting while Cuyler was chosen by the Charleston Baseball Hall of Fame Committee


The three new inductees will be honored prior to the RiverDogs' Saturday, August 3 home game against Delmarva Shorebirds at 6:05 pm, and will have their names inscribed on the Hall of Fame list located on the main concourse of Joseph P. Riley, Jr. Park.


The Charleston Baseball Hall of Fame is coordinated and operated by the Charleston RiverDogs. An advisory committee consisting of knowledgeable local volunteers was created to come up with the names as potential nominees. The Hall of Fame is located inside Riley Park.


Kiki Cuyler - A member of the Baseball Hall of Fame (1968) who played for the minor league Charleston Pals in 1922 (131 games) at Hampton Park; was an outfielder for 18 seasons (1921-38) with the Pirates, Cubs, Reds and Brooklyn Dodgers; burst into the Pirates lineup in '24, batting .354 as a rookie and the next year led the NL in triples (26), and runs (144), batted .357 while leading the Pirates to the World Series against Walter "Big Train" Johnson and the Senators; the next year he led the NL in runs (113) and stolen bases (35); traded to the Cubs, he continued to be a star over the next 7½ seasons, hitting over .300 five times, and helping them to the '29 and '33 World Series; named a starting outfielder on the NL's All-Star team (the second to be held); career totals were 1,879 games, 2,299 hits, 1,305 runs, 128 home runs, 1,065 RBI, 328 stolen bases and a .321 career average, hitting over .300 10 times (topping at .360 in 1929).


Tony Cadden- Played at Country Day High School winning three state championships (1973-75); played infield at North Greenville College. Following college he coached recreation baseball on James Island, which included coaching a team in the South Carolina Collegiate Summer League for two years and took the SC College All-Stars to Cincinnati for the Collegiate Summer League World Series. Tony coached American Legion Post 147 baseball team for 20 years, raising over $100,000 during his tenure to fund the program so players would not have to pay to play. He led Post 147 teams to several league titles and a pair of state runner-up titles with more than 100 of his players going on to play collegiately of which eight former players played professional baseball. He was also an associate scout for the Texas Rangers for eight years and is currently an associate Scout for the New York Mets. Tony currently serves as an assistant baseball coach for Porter Gaud.


Michael R. "Mike" Montei - A walk-on that did not play high school baseball, Mike was a two-time member of the All-Southern Conference baseball team and a four-year letterman …when he graduated in 1987 his 30 wins made him the all-time winningest pitcher in the modern era at The Citadel and in military college history… held school records for most innings pitched in a season (99.1 in '87), career (315), and most appearances (64) …regarded as a control pitcher, as a starter and reliever he averaged just 1.3 walks per 9 innings and was enshrined in The Citadel Athletic Hall of Fame in 2005.



Fans can "Make Fun" with the RiverDogs all season long down at The Joe. Single-game tickets, including options to the Riley Park Club, are now available at or by contacting the RiverDogs front office at 843-577-3647 (DOGS). A full schedule and list of game times for the 2019 season are available at





Previous Charleston Baseball Hall of Fame Inductees


2018 - Lewis Elmore "Lukey" Dudley

            Jerry Stoots

            Richard "Dick" Jones


2017 - Philip Hartig

  R.J. Swindle

  Ryan Johnson

  John Couch


2016 - Ted Byrne

            Chris Campbell

            Nick Chigges

            Joe Riley, Jr.

            Mike Veeck


2015 - Pete Ayoub

            John Chalus

            Lee Curtis


2014 - Reese Havens

            David Hoffman

            Billy Swails, Jr.


2013 - Steven Jackson

  Drew Meyer

            Britt Reames


2012 - Gettys Glaze

            Tom Hatley

            John Rhodes


2011 - Bill Ackerman

            Roberto Alomar

            Mike Kimbrell


2010 - Lee Glaze

  Fred Jordan

  D.K. Walters

  Kenny Wilkinson


2009 - John Dodds, Jr.

            W.S. "Bull" Durham

            Donald Morillo

            Doug Pounder


2008 - Bryce Florie

            Danny Jones

            Charley Smith

            Richard Wieters


2007 - 1955 Cannon Street YMCA All-Star Team

            1990 Citadel World Series Team

            Anthony Jenkins

  Modie Risher


2006 - Ty Cline

            Mike Cook

            Gary McJunkin

            Chal Port


2005 - John Candelaria


2004 - David Cone


2003 - Willie Randolph

  Gorman Thomas

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More