Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon
Low-A Affiliate
The Official Site of the Charleston RiverDogs Charleston RiverDogs

RiverDogs Receive Multiple South Atlantic League Awards

Club Nets Prestigious Merit Award While Williams, Field Again Take Top Honors
September 5, 2012
CHARLESTON, SC - The Charleston RiverDogs are once again well represented on the list of winners of the 2012 South Atlantic League Outstanding Achievement Awards. All 14 teams, along with the field managers and umpires, participated in the voting for these awards, and the RiverDogs took home a trio of honors.

The team was recognized with the Club Merit Award for the team with the best overall club operations, the Best Playing Field Award for the excellent playing surface at Joseph P. Riley, Jr. Park, as well as Head Groundskeeper Mike Williams taking home the award for the Sports Turf Manager of the Year.

For Williams, it marks the third time in four years that he's won the award.

"We are honored to receive these three awards, and it is a true testament to how hard each and every one of our Front Office Staff members, game day staff and interns work every day," said RiverDogs General Manager Dave Echols. "I thank our peers around the league who bestowed us with these honors, and we could not be more proud to receive these awards."

The complete list of the 2012 SAL Outstanding Achievement Award winners:

Club Merit Award: The Charleston RiverDogs were selected as with this prestigious citation, which is for outstanding overall club operations.

Excellence in Marketing Award: The West Virginia Power was chosen as the recipient that recognizes outstanding marketing and promotions.

General Manager of the Year: Donald Moore of the Greensboro Grasshoppers was selected as the General Manager of the year.

Female Executive of the Year: Kristin Call of the West Virginia Power.

Media Relations Director of the Year: Bret Lasky of the Delmarva Shorebirds.

Sales Executive of the Year: Tim Vangel of the Greensboro Grasshoppers.

Community Relations Director of the Year: Samantha Bauer of the Greenville Drive.

Sports Turf Manager of the Year: Mike Williams of the Charleston RiverDogs.

Best Playing Field Award: Joseph P. Riley, Jr. Park, home of the Charleston RiverDogs.

Athletic Trainer of the Year Award: Billy Whitehead of the Asheville Tourists.

Bat Person of the Year Award: Adam Isabell of the Rome Braves.

Visiting Clubhouse Manager of the Year Award: Tom Romano of the Lakewood BlueClaws.

The awards will be presented on October 16 at the South Atlantic League Fall Meetings at the Sheraton Raleigh in Raleigh, North Carolina.