Chiefs Blank LumberKings, 4-0

Kyle Helisek strikes out a career-high eight

By Doug Newton / Clinton LumberKings | June 13, 2013 7:57 PM

Clinton, IA - The Clinton LumberKings could not muster enough offense to complete a three-game sweep of the Peoria Chiefs. Instead, the Chiefs stymied the LumberKings' lineup to take the finale with a 4-0 shutout.

Peoria jumped out to an early lead and never looked back on Thursday night. With the bases loaded and two outs, Patrick Wisdom delivered a two-run single to give the Chiefs a 2-0 lead in the opening moments of the game.

Chiefs' starter Kyle Helisek mowed down the Clinton lineup in the victory. In the six innings he worked, the left-hander Helisek did not allow a run while recording a career-high eight strikeouts.

The Chiefs scored twice more off LumberKings' starter Scott DeCecco. Peoria plated a run in the third inning on a Jacob Wilson sacrifice fly. The visitors added another in the fifth after back-to-back doubles by Jesus Montero and Breyvic Valera.

The LumberKings failed to mount a rally, but that did not stop the two teams from some late-inning drama. Benches cleared in the ninth after Chiefs' reliever Thomas Lee threw behind Gaby Guerrero. Lee and Peoria manager Dann Bilardello were both ejected. The incident came after Oliver Garcia hit Jacob Wilson with a pitch in the top of the inning. Wilson was struck in the helmet and left the game, but he did manage to walk off the field on his own power.

Scitt DeCecco took his sixth loss of the year, while Kyle Helisek improved to 5-2 with the win. David Holman and Oliver Garcia both pitched two scoreless innings in relief for Clinton.

Clinton starts their final series of the first half as they make the road trip to Beloit. The LumberKings and Snappers begin a three-game series on Friday night. The LumberKings send right-hander Charles Kaalekahi (0-0, 11.25) to the mound against Snappers' right-hander Derek DeYoung (4-1, 3.48). First pitch is scheduled for 7:00 PM CT.

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More