The Williamsport Crosscutters were recently chosen as the 2012 Phillips/Plankenhorn Small Business of the Year by the Williamsport/Lycoming Chamber of Commerce.
The award, sponsored by M&T Bank was announced and presented at the Chamber's Annual Meeting and Awards Banquet held on February 20 at the Genetti Hotel.
The team, originally known as the Williamsport Cubs, began play in 1994, changing their name to Crosscutters after the 1998 season to better align themselves with the rich logging heritage of the area. The 2013 season will mark the 15th anniversary for the Crosscutters and the 20th for team ownership led by President Paul Velte and Executive Vice-President John Schreyer.
The stability of the organization is probably best exemplified by the fact that the top management, Vice-President/General Manager Doug Estes and Vice-President of Marketing & Public Gabe Sinicropi, has remained unchanged in those 20 years.
In accepting the award, Estes thanked fans, sponsors and the City of Williamsport, "for their continued commitment to upgrading the facilities. The Crosscutters would not have been able to enhance the fan experience without these continued improvements."
Bringing the team to Williamsport has resulted in over $3.9 million in renovations and improvements by the City of Williamsport to Historic Bowman Field. The stadium, opened in 1926, currently ranks as the 2nd oldest minor league stadium operating in the U.S.
The organization donates over $60,000 annually in cash, tickets and merchandise to area non-profits and those in need.
The Crosscutters 15th Anniversary Season opens on June 18 at Historic Bowman Field. Season tickets, bonus books and group packages are currently available and can be purchased online at www.crosscutters.com or by calling the Cutters at (570) 326-3389.
This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.