Former CT Tigers Open 2013 Season

38 Players Begin Season Across Three Levels

By Connecticut Tigers | April 4, 2013 7:57 AM ET

NORWICH-The Connecticut Tigers, the New York-Penn League affiliate of the Detroit Tigers, are proud to announce that 38 former players over the last three years (2010-2012) will be starting long season affiliated baseball at various affiliates in the Detroit Tigers system on Thursday night.

The list is highlighted by six players who won Detroit Tigers Organizational Player or Pitcher of the Year at their respective levels in 2012.  At Class A Advanced Lakeland the winners were OF Tyler Collins and RHP Tyler Clark. At Class A West Michigan the winners were SS Eugenio Suarez and RHP Thomas Collier. Suarez was also selected as the winner of the 2012 Rawlings Gold Glove award amongst all Minor League Baseball shortstops. The 2012 winners of Player of the Year and Pitcher of the Year for the Connecticut Tigers were OF Danry Vasquez and LHP Josh Turley.

West Michigan Whitecaps (Class A Midwest League)

Scott Dwyer- Hitting Coach (2010, 2011)

T.J. Saunders- Athletic Trainer (2010)

Chad Smith- RHP (2012)

Brennan Smith- RHP (2010,2011)

Slade Smith- RHP (2012)

Endrys Briceno- RHP (2012)

Edgar De La Rosa- RHP (2012)

Angel Nesbitt- RHP (2012)

Montreal Robertson- RHP (2011,2012)

Josh Turley- RHP (2012)

Bennett Pickar- C (2012)

Adolfo Reina- C (2011)

Matt Perry- IF (2010,2011)

Jared Reaves- IF (2012)

Devon Travis- IF (2012)

Jake Stewart- OF (2012)

Jeff Holm- OF/1B (2011)

Danry Vasquez- OF (2011)

Lakeland Flying Tigers (Class A-Advanced Florida State League)

T.J. Obergefell- Athletic Trainer (2011,2012)

Melvin Mercedes- RHP (2011)

Joe Rogers- LHP (2012)

Will Clinard- RHP (2012)

Thomas Collier- RHP (2011)

Jeff Ferrell- RHP (2010)

Wilsen Palacios-RHP (2010,2011)

Michael Torrealba- RHP (2010)

Zach Maggard- C (2011)

Dean Green- 1B (2011)

Aaron Westlake- 1B (2011)

Tyler Hanover- IF (2012)

Jason King- 3B (2011)

Eugenio Suarez- SS (2011)

Jeff McVaney- OF (2012)

Chad Wright- OF (2011)

Erie Seawolves (Class AA Eastern League)

Robbie Weinhardt- RHP (2010)

Tyler Clark- RHP (2010)

Patrick Cooper- RHP (2010)

Matt Crouse- LHP (2011)

Dixon Machado- SS (2010)

James Robbins- 1B (2010)

Tyler Collins- OF (2011)

The Connecticut Tigers are the NYPL affiliate of the Detroit Tigers and play a 76 game (38 home, 38 away) schedule from mid June through early September. 2013 season tickets, individual game tickets, and tickets to the 2013 NYPL All-Star Celebration Game are now on sale! The front office and ticket office is open daily from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday and can be accessed in person or by calling 860-887-7962. In addition, fans may purchase tickets to the All-Star Celebration online at

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More