Curve Blanked in Akron, 2-0

Club drops ninth straight game to Akron in head-to-head series

(Mark Olson/MiLB)

By Mike Passanisi / Altoona Curve | May 10, 2014 9:52 PM ET

AKRON, Ohio - Altoona's offense couldn't get it started on Saturday night at Canal Park as they were blanked by the 'Ducks in a, 2-0, loss. Both Keon Broxton (nine-game) and Jarek Cunningham (eight-game) saw their hitting streaks come to an end in the loss, which saw the Curve collect a total of two hits. It's the second time in 2014 that the Curve have been shutout.

Starter Nick Kingham (1-3) went toe to toe with 'Ducks starter Joe Colon (2-2) before he allowed his first run of the game in the fourth. With two away, Tony Wolters singled before Jordan Smith did the same. Alex Lavisky grabbed a third straight two-out hit to bring home Wolters and the 'Ducks led, 1-0.

The RubberDucks were once again able to plate a run off Kingham in the fifth, this time on a Bryan LaHair single to drive home Francisco Lindor, who'd doubled with one out.

That marked all the scoring on Saturday night as the Curve could not muster any offense against Colon, Tyler Sturdevant and closer Kyle Crockett. Altoona had a total of six baserunners in the loss with four of them reaching via the walk.

Broxton, who had his hit streak come to a halt, did extend his on-base streak to 10 games by drawing a walk in his first at bat. Drew Maggi and Matt Curry were the only Curve players to secure a hit on Saturday.

Emmanuel de Leon and Ryan Beckman combined for three scoreless innings out of the bullpen in the loss.

The Curve (13-21) will aim to end a nine-game head-to-head losing streak versus the 'Ducks (23-12) with a win in the series finale at 2:05 p.m. Sunday afternoon. RHP A.J. Morris (2-0, 1.11) will aim to be the one to play stopper for the Curve. He'll be opposed by 'Ducks righty RHP Will Roberts (4-2, 3.57) on Sunday afternoon.

Airtime on ESPN Radio 1430, WVAM and the Curve Radio Network is scheduled for 1:35 p.m.



This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More