(Nicholas Badders / Elizabethton Twins)

By Elizabethton Twins | July 31, 2019 11:09 PM




Burlington, N.C. - While the Elizabethton Twins sent 10 to the plate and struck for six runs in the first, they could not score after that, the Burlington Royals chipped away and took the lead late, going on to win 7-6 and sweeping the E-Twins.

DaShawn Keirsey walked to begin the game, then Max Smith singled, as did Parker Phillips to score Keirsey. Matt Wallner walked, a sacrifice fly from Trevor Jensen added a second run and Anthony Prato singled home Phillips to make the score 3-0. After Will Holland walked to load the bases again, Janigson Villalobos cleared them with a three-run double that stretched the score to 6-0.

Elizabethton went scoreless over the final eight innings though, only recording three hits and stranding eight runners on.

Phillips and Villalobos each connected for another hit, while Holland and Prato each drew two walks, but the Twins stranded eight runners on base in the last eight innings.

Andriu Marin held Burlington scoreless through three, retiring six in a row between the second and third innings. He hit a road bump in the fourth, though, surrendering three runs on a three-run home off the bat of Jesus Atencio, then two more in the fifth.

Denny Bentley contributed 1.2 innings of scoreless relief after taking over for Marin in the fifth, but Ryan Shreve allowed Burlington to tie the game in the seventh and allowed a run in the eighth as well that gave the Royals the lead for the first, only and final time of the game.

While the team as a whole drew eight walks, the Twins also struck out 12 times, including a five-strikeout seventh inning from Burlington's Malcolm Van Buren, a feat that hasn't been accomplished in Minor League Baseball since 2014.

The Twins are off Thursday before returning to action Friday for three games in Elizabethton against the Bristol Pirates.

For tickets and more information, visit

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More