FSL Hall of Fame to induct nine

Wright, Samuel, Veeck among those to be enshrined Nov. 12

By Florida State League | September 18, 2013 3:30 PM

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. -- The Florida State League Hall of Fame Committee on Wednesday announced its 2013 inductees. The Class of 2013 will be enshrined at the fifth annual induction ceremony on Nov. 12 at the Plaza Resort and Spa in Daytona Beach.


Al Nipper -- Nipper was signed by the Boston Red Sox in 1980 and spent two seasons (1980-81) in the Florida State League with Winter Haven. In those two seasons, he won 20 games, completed 17 and compiled a 1.94 ERA over 297 innings in 45 games. Nipper was called up to the Red Sox in 1983 and pitched in the Major Leagues through 1990. Since then, he has had various scouting and coaching positions and is currently the Minor League pitching coordinator for the Detroit Tigers.

Ramon Martinez -- Martinez was signed by the Los Angeles Dodgers in September 1984. He pitched for Vero Beach in 1987, winning 16 games and posting a 2.17 ERA over 107 1/3 innings in 25 starts. Martinez made his Major League debut on Aug. 13, 1988 and won 135 games over 13 seasons, mostly with the Dodgers. He's currently is a senior advisor in Latin America for the Dodgers.


Jimmy Rollins -- Rollins was drafted by the Philadelphia Phillies in 1996 and played for Clearwater in 1998, batting .244 in 119 games. He joined the Phillies in 2000 and has been their shortstop for 14 years. A three-time All-Star and four-time Gold Glove Award winner, he was named National League MVP in 2007 and is rated as one of the best shortstops in the NL.

David Wright -- Wright was drafted by the New York Mets in 2001 and helped St. Lucie win the 2003 Florida State League championship. He also was named an FSL All-Star after hitting .279 in 139 games. Since making his big league debut in 2004, Wright has been an All-Star seven times, won two Gold Glove awards and two Silver Slugger awards. He holds Mets records for career RBIs, doubles, total bases, runs scored, walks, sacrifice flies, times on base, extra-base hits, strikeouts and hits. He was named team captain in 2013.


Bill Dancy -- Dancy was drafted by the Cleveland Indians in 1971 and spent six years in the Phillies' Minor League system. His achievements include hitting a home run both left-handed and right-handed in a game, batting .311 in one season for a Triple-A team and collecting eight straight pinch hits. Dancy managed Clearwater in 1992, 1993, 1998 and 1999 and was named Top Managing Prospect in the FSL by Baseball America in 1992 and 1993. Dancy has more than 39 years of experience as a player, coach and manager in professional baseball and has amassed 1,670 wins in 23 seasons as a Minor League skipper. He's currently the Minor League field coordinator for the Detroit Tigers.

Buck Showalter -- In 1987, he became manager of the Fort Lauderdale Yankees, leading them to a 85-53 record in his first season. Showalter is currently the manager of the Baltimore Orioles and has been re-signed by the team through 2018. He previously managed the New York Yankees, Arizona Diamondbacks and Texas Rangers. During his Yankees tenure, he was named American League Manager of the Year after finishing first during the strike-shortened season. He managed the AL at the 1995 All-Star Game and was named Manager of the Year again in 2004 with the Rangers. Showalter has earned a reputation for building baseball teams into postseason contenders in short periods of time. He also worked as a television analyst for ESPN.


Mike Veeck -- The name Veeck is synonymous with fun at the ballpark. Mike joined Marvin Goldklang's group in November 1989 and immediately energized the Florida State League, creating numerous promotions which were meant to entertain fans and help them have fun at the ballpark. During his long and successful career, he has hired a dog and a pig to deliver baseballs to the home plate umpire. Veeck has been involved in the FSL since becoming president of the Miracle in 1990, when the team was located in Pompano Beach. He made the move to Southwest Florida with the Miracle when the team relocated to Fort Myers for the 1992 season. Veeck later left for Minnesota to become president of the St. Paul Saints following the 1993 Miracle season. However, his vision for fun at Hammond Stadium and making sure that every fan is taken care of 110 percent is still a major part of the Miracle's operating philosophy. Veeck is now part-owner in five baseball teams, including the Charleston RiverDogs, and is a consultant for one other club. In 2005, he was recognized as one of the 25 most influential people in baseball over the last quarter-century. He has advised several companies, been profiled in stories on "60 Minutes" and in magazines and has taught college courses in marketing as an adjunct professor at The Citadel. He also was The Citadel Graduate College's commencement speaker in 2010. Veeck is an advertising professional, coveted public speaker, founder of the Veeck Promotional Seminar and an all-around idea man. He's the third generation in his family to serve as a baseball executive and team owner. While working for his father with the White Sox in 1979, Mike was the innovator behind Disco Demolition Night, the most infamous promotion in big league history. Veeck also has held Major League marketing positions with the Tampa Bay Devil Rays, Florida Marlins and Detroit Tigers. He is the author of "Fun is Good: How to Create Joy and Passion in Your Workplace," which describes how this simple philosophy leads to success in any business. Mike and his wife, Libby, live in Mt. Pleasant, S.C., and they have two children, William "Night Train" and Rebecca.

Ron Myers -- Myers was born and raised in Flint, Mich., and graduated from Central Michigan University in 1980 with a degree in communications. He moved to Lakeland, Fla., and started his baseball career as an intern with the Lakeland Tigers. He was made vice president and general manager in 1993. That same year, he accepted a position with Minor League Baseball, where he was given the responsibility to create and pioneer the first in-house marketing department. Following his time with Minor League Baseball, Myers was appointed vice president for the Tampa Bay Storm in the Arena Football League. In his next job, Myers was vice president of sales and marketing for the Verizon Classic Senior PGA Tour in Tampa. Myers then joined the National Basketball Development League and became president of the Mobile Revelers. After his time there, he decided to come back to his first love, baseball. He was name director for corporate sales for the Tampa Bay Devil Rays and made the circle complete in November 2003, coming back to Lakeland, where he was named Director of Florida Operations for the Detroit Tigers. Myers is an exceptional person with a quick wit and vast knowledge of marketing and promotions. This is Myers' 22nd year in the FSL. He was the main catalyst in founding the Florida State League Hall of Fame and in 1987 was elected FSL Co-Executive of the Year.


Jerry Layne -- Layne became a member of the Major League Staff in 1989. He was the crew chief for the 2011 World Series and has worked three All-Star Games (1994, 2001, 2011), the 2005 World Series and five Division Series (1995, 1998, 2001, 2009, 2012) as well as the 2012 AL Wild Card Classic. Layne was behind the plate for the third game of the 2005 World Series, the longest in Fall Classic history (14 innings, 482 pitches). He also has been an instructor at the Harry Wendelstedt Umpire School. Layne was an umpire in the Florida State League from 1979-81. He and his wife, Jacqueline, have two daughters. He also works with the Disabled American Veterans.

The induction ceremony is open to the public and tickets are $75 per person. Dress is cocktail attire. More information will be available closer to the event.

View More