Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

FSL All-Stars: Tigers, Dodgers galore

First-half champs claim nine of 18 spots on postseason roster
August 30, 2005
The two teams with the best records in the Florida State League account for exactly half the league's postseason All-Stars, as Lakeland landed five players on the team -- including the league's top hitter and pitcher -- and Vero Beach netted four.

Brent Clevlen and Jordan Tata, who have helped guide Lakeland to the best record of any full-season Minor League Baseball team in 2005, were named the league's Most Valuable Player and Most Valuable Pitcher.

A second-round pick by Detroit in 2002, Clevlen bounced back from a rough 2004 season to rank among the FSL's leaders in numerous categories. At the time of the selection, the 21-year-old outfielder was ranked first in RBIs (100), eighth in average (.301), fourth in on-base percentage (.385) and fifth in hits (143).

Tata, a 16th-round pick out of Sam Houston State in 2003, had a breakout season, leading the league in wins (13), while ranking second in ERA (2.38) and fourth in strikeouts (132) through Monday.

Other Tigers named to the team were catcher Danilo Sanchez, outfielder Vincent Blue and pitcher Nathan Bumstead. All five were among the league-record 10 players that Lakeland sent to the All-Star Game in June. Tigers skipper Mike Rojas was also named the league's Manager of the Year.

While Lakeland dominated the FSL's West Division all year, Vero Beach has been the top team in the East. The Dodgers are represented by a trio of infielders -- second baseman Tony Abreu, shortstop Chin-Lung Hu and third baseman Andy LaRoche -- and outfielder Matt Kemp, who was tabbed the designated hitter.

Here is a complete list of the 2005 Florida State League postseason All-Star team:

C -- Robinzon Diaz, Dunedin
C -- Danilo Sanchez, Lakeland
1B -- Andy Wilson, St. Lucie
2B -- Tony Abreu, Vero Beach
3B -- Chin-Lung Hu, Vero Beach
SS -- Andy LaRoche, Vero Beach
Util -- Adam Heether, Brevard County
LF -- Adam Lind, Dunedin
CF -- Chris Walker, Daytona
RF -- Brent Clevlen, Lakeland
Util -- Vincent Blue, Lakeland
DH -- Matt Kemp, Vero Beach
P -- Nathan Bumstead, Lakeland
P -- Tim Dillard, Brevard County
P -- Jordan Tata, Lakeland
P -- Carlos Villanueva, Brevard County
RP -- Paul Thorp, Tampa
RP -- Mark Worrell, Palm Beach
Manager -- Mike Rojas, Lakeland
Coach -- Scott Little, Vero Beach
Coach -- Omar Malave, Dunedin

Most Valuable Player -- Brent Clevlen, Lakeland
Most Valuable Pitcher -- Jordan Tata, Lakeland