Seven-Run Third Leads Keys to Rain-Shortened Victory

Game Called After Top of the Fifth Due to Rain

By Frederick Keys | August 1, 2018 9:32 PM

FREDERICK, MD-A seven-run third inning helped lead the Frederick Keys (52-57, 17-23) to a rain-shortened 7-2 victory over the Potomac Nationals (55-49, 18-19) on Wednesday night at Nymeo Field. The game was called after the top of the fifth due to rain.


The seven-run frame was tied for the most runs scored by the Keys in an inning this year. Collin Woody led off with a walk. He moved to third on a Jake Ring double, while a Daniel Fajardo double brought in both runners to make it 2-0. Chris Clare followed with a single, and Randolph Gassaway drew a two-out walk to put two on for Preston Palmeiro . Palmeiro then launched a three-run home run, and Jomar Reyes hit the very next pitch out which made it 7-0.


Potomac would score single markers in the fourth and the fifth. In the fourth, Ian Sagdal singled and moved to third on an Aldrem Corredor double. Sagdal would score on a Jack Sundberg groundout.


In the fifth, David Masters walked. Bryan Mejia and Luis Garcia then hit back-to-back singles, with Garcia's scoring Masters and making the score 7-2 Keys. That would be it for the scoring, as the rain started to fall and ended the game.


Michael Baumann (7-2) earned the win for the Keys, and was credited with a complete game. He allowed two runs on five hits over five innings while walking two and striking out three. Nick Raquet (1-2) took the loss for the Nationals. After retiring the first six he faced in order, he allowed seven runs in the third and recorded just two outs. He gave up five hits, walked two, and struck out three over 2.2 innings.


The Keys and Nationals conclude their series on Thursday afternoon. Right-hander Matthias Dietz (0-3, 7.85) makes the start for Frederick. He will be opposed by right-hander Wil Crowe (10-0, 2.89) for the P-Nats. First pitch is scheduled for 12:00 p.m., and the game can be heard on and the TuneIn Radio app.

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More