Frisco RoughRiders to host 2017 Texas League All-Star Game

Texas League's top prospect come together at Dr Pepper Ballpark June 27, 2017

By Frisco RoughRiders | July 30, 2016 6:43 PM

FRISCO, TEXAS (July 30, 2016) - The Frisco RoughRiders, the Double-A affiliate of the Texas Rangers, today announced that the club has been selected to host the 2017 Texas League All-Star Game on Tuesday, June 27 at Dr Pepper Ballpark in Frisco. The game will feature the top prospects from the Rangers, their in-state rival Houston Astros, the World Series champion Kansas City Royals, and five other MLB teams.

The 2017 Texas League All-Star Game will mark the third time Frisco has played host to the contest at Dr Pepper Ballpark. The RoughRiders also hosted the 2005 and 2009 Texas League All-Star Games, welcoming sellout crowds of more than 10,000 fans for both games.

"With all of the stunning fan experience upgrades that we've made to Dr Pepper Ballpark over the past two seasons, including the nationally-acclaimed Choctaw Lazy River, our eye-popping HD video board, the opening of the Bull Moose Saloon Sports Bar, and so many more exciting ballpark and game day experience enhancements, next year's Texas League All-Star Game offers us a wonderful opportunity to showcase our revitalized brand along with the dynamic growth and vibrance of the City of Frisco," said RoughRiders' General Partner and CEO Chuck Greenberg.

All-Star festivities will take place starting Monday, June 26 and continue during the day on Tuesday, June 27, prior to that night's All-Star Game. Events will take place at Dr Pepper Ballpark and throughout both Frisco and the DFW Metroplex. The complete list of 2017 All-Star Game activities will be announced as the event draws closer.

"On behalf of the City of Frisco, I am delighted that the Texas League All-Star Game is coming to Dr Pepper Ballpark in 2017," said Frisco Mayor Maher Maso. "We look forward to welcoming the fans, players, coaches, and baseball industry executives and scouts from across the region to our great city for this momentous event."

There are two ways to secure seats to the 2017 Texas League All-Star Game at Dr Pepper Ballpark. Fans can purchase a 2017 Frisco RoughRiders Season Ticket plan and be guaranteed a seat to the June 27 All-Star Game. Season Ticket plans can be reserved starting August 15.

Available today is the newly-introduced All-Star Flex Plan. The plan includes 10 ticket vouchers for the 2016 season, 10 ticket vouchers for the 2017 season, and the ability to secure up to four seats for the 2017 All-Star Game. Ticket vouchers are flexible tickets that can be used for any regular season date in any quantity.

Additionally, single-game tickets for the 2017 Texas League All-Star Game will go on sale at a later date. To purchase 2017 Season Tickets, the All-Star Flex plan, or for additional ticket information visit, email, or call (972) 731-9200.

The 2017 Texas League All-Star Game will pit teams from the league's North and South divisions, made up of the best prospects on each team. The South Division will be represented by Frisco (Rangers), Corpus Christi (Houston Astros), Midland (Oakland Athletics) and San Antonio (San Diego Padres). Meanwhile, the North will feature the Arkansas Travelers (Los Angeles Angels), Northwest Arkansas Naturals (Kansas City Royals), Springfield Cardinals (St. Louis Cardinals), and Tulsa Drillers (Los Angeles Dodgers).

Recent standout players from the Texas League All-Star Game include current Rangers Elvis Andrus, Martin Perez, Jurickson Profar, and Ryan Rua as well as some of baseball's great young stars like Mike Trout, Nolan Arenado, George Springer, and Mike Moustakas. The RoughRiders had seven players selected to the All-Star Game this season with outfielder Ryan Cordell taking home MVP honors in the game played in Springfield, Missouri.

For information on the 2017 Texas League All-Star Game, fans can visit, email, call (972) 731-9200, or stop by in person to the RoughRiders Ticket Office.

The RoughRiders continue their homestand after Saturday's contest with the series finale against the San Antonio Missions, which will be televised on Fox Sports Southwest at 6:00 p.m., followed by three games Monday through Wednesday against the Midland RockHounds.

About the RoughRiders

The Frisco RoughRiders are the Double-A affiliate of the Texas Rangers and play their games at beautiful Dr Pepper Ballpark in Frisco, Texas. The team was founded in 2003 and has finished first among all Double-A franchises in attendance in each of the last 11 seasons (2005-2015). In August 2014, the RoughRiders were purchased by an ownership group led by Chuck Greenberg and Scott Sonju. The new ownership group, together with the city of Frisco, has spearheaded numerous major franchise improvements over the past two seasons, investing over $7 million in wide array of facility upgrades and improvements, including the new state-of-the-art HD video board, sound system, Bull Moose Saloon, InTouch Grille, Riders Outpost Team Store, and the newest and biggest creation, the 174-foot Choctaw Lazy River. The improvements made prior to the 2015 season earned the Riders and the City of Frisco "Best Ballpark Renovation" of 2015 by Ballpark Digest. More than 130 former RoughRiders players have gone on to play Major League Baseball, including All-Stars Chris Davis, Elvis Andrus, Adrian Gonzalez, Ian Kinsler, Nelson Cruz, and C.J. Wilson as well as current Rangers stars Derek Holland, Rougned Odor, and Mitch Moreland. For more information on the Frisco RoughRiders and Dr Pepper Ballpark, please visit or contact Nathan Barnett at (972) 334-1976 or via e-mail at



View More