Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon
Double-A Affiliate
The Official Site of the Frisco RoughRiders Frisco RoughRiders

Riders close out 2016 with 5-1 win over Midland

Riders bats back Carroll's impressive outing in season finale
September 5, 2016

FRISCO, TEXAS (September 5, 2016) - The Frisco RoughRiders, the Double-A affiliate of the Texas Rangers, closed out the 2016 season with a 5-1 win over the Midland RockHounds Monday afternoon at Dr Pepper Ballpark.

Scott Carroll took the ball in the season finale and turned in another impressive performance. The righty worked 5 1/3 scoreless innings, allowing four hits, walking none and striking out two. Carroll (2-1) left in the middle of the sixth with an apparent injury. He finished the season with a 2.92 ERA in seven starts with the Riders, allowing more than two earned runs just once.

After scoring a run in the first, Frisco backed Carroll's strong start with a pair of two-run innings in the fifth and sixth. Darin Mastroianni and Edwin Garcia each doubled in a run in the fifth, and Eduard Pinto followed with a two-run single in the sixth.

The RoughRiders finished the season 63-76 overall and 25-45 in the second half. Frisco had the best record in team history through 43 games at 30-13. The Riders also had seven players selected as Texas League Mid-Season All-Stars, in addition to having two players (Ryan Cordell and Ronald Guzman) and a coach (Jason Hart) on the Post-Season All-Star Squad.

The 2017 season is set to begin April 6 at Dr Pepper Ballpark. The Riders will also host the 2017 Texas League All-Star Game on June 27 at Dr Pepper Ballpark. More information on tickets for the 2017 season is available online at, via email at [email protected], over the phone at (972) 731-9200, or in-person at the RoughRiders box office.

About the RoughRiders

The Frisco RoughRiders are the Double-A affiliate of the Texas Rangers and play their games at beautiful Dr Pepper Ballpark in Frisco, Texas. The team was founded in 2003 and has finished first among all Double-A franchises in attendance in each of the last 12 seasons (2005-2016). In August 2014, the RoughRiders were purchased by an ownership group led by Chuck Greenberg and Scott Sonju. The new ownership group, together with the city of Frisco, has spearheaded numerous major franchise improvements over the past two seasons, investing over $7 million in wide array of facility upgrades and improvements, including the new state-of-the-art HD video board, sound system, Bull Moose Saloon, InTouch Grille, Riders Outpost Team Store, and the newest and biggest creation, the 174-foot Choctaw Lazy River. The improvements made prior to the 2015 season earned the Riders and the City of Frisco "Best Ballpark Renovation" of 2015 by Ballpark Digest. More than 140 former RoughRiders players have gone on to play Major League Baseball, including All-Stars Chris Davis, Elvis Andrus, Adrian Gonzalez, Ian Kinsler, Nelson Cruz, and C.J. Wilson as well as current Rangers stars Derek Holland, Rougned Odor, and Mitch Moreland. For more information on the Frisco RoughRiders and Dr Pepper Ballpark, please visit or contact Nathan Barnett at (972) 334-1976 or via e-mail at [email protected]