Astros set 2013 Opening Day roster

Appalachian League begins play on Thursday

By Hunter Reed / Greeneville Astros | June 17, 2013 11:19 AM ET

GREENEVILLE, TN- The Houston Astros have set the initial 2013 Greeneville Astros Opening Day roster. The roster, currently consisting of 22 players, is subject to change even after Appalachian League play begins on June 20.

This year's team, led by first-year manager Josh Bonifay, consists of 11 players drafted by the Houston Astros over the last four years, 10 non-drafted free agent prospects and one player, infielder Edwin Gomez, acquired as a free agent last summer after previously being drafted by the Detroit Tigers in the 4th round of the June 2009 draft. 

Fifteen of the players on this season's club have previously spent time playing in the minor leagues and have a combined 27 years of experience. Of those 15 players, seven have already spent at least one season in Greeneville. Going further, the average age on the team is just under 21 years, which is the equivalent to the Opening Day roster in 2012 and higher than most previous years.

Some of the familiar names returning to Greeneville include right-handed pitcher Frederick Tiburcio, left-handed pitcher Chris Lee, catcher Ricky Gingras, catcher Cristian Moronta, infielder Angel Ibanez and outfielder Marc Wik.

Five players, all pitchers, from the recent 2013 MLB Draft will be making their professional debuts with Greeneville. From this draft class, right-handed pitchers Tyler Brunnemann and William Chrismon will be joined by left-handers Sebastian Kessay, Jordan Mills and J.D. Osborne.

As a whole, the Astros have a total of seven states and four countries represented on the Greeneville roster this season. Sixteen players are from the United States. California has the most representatives with five followed by Florida and Texas with three each. Meanwhile, there are five players from the Dominican Republic, two from Venezuela and one from Puerto Rico.

The complete roster will be as follows:

Pitchers:  RHP Alan Abreu, RHP Tyler Brunnemann, RHP William Chrismon, RHP Enderson Franco, RHP Jandel Gustave, RHP Krishawn Holley, LHP Sebastian Kessay, LHP Chris Lee, LHP Jordan Mills, LHP J.D. Osborne and RHP Frederick Tiburcio.

Catchers:  Ricky Gringas, Alfredo Gonzalez and Cristian Moronta.

Infielders: Edwin Gomez, Angel Ibanez, Jack Mayfield, Darwin Rivera and Juan Santana.

Outfielders:  Wallace Gonzalez, Tanner Mathis and Marc Wik.

The Greeneville Astros begin their season on Thursday, June 20 at Bluefield, but fans in Greeneville can see the squad during their home opener on Sunday, June 23 at 7:00pm against the Elizabethton Twins.  

Tickets are available now at the Astros Administrative office, located at Pioneer Park on the campus of Tusculum College. The office is open Monday-Friday from 9:00am-5:30pm. For more information on the Astros, call (423) 638-0411 or visit


This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More