Loons Nominated for MiLB Postseason Award

Midwest League nomination, one of 14 teams up for community service award

By Great Lakes Loons | September 29, 2017 1:26 PM


SOUTH BEND, Ind. - The Midwest League of Professional Baseball Clubs is pleased to announce its nominees for Minor League Baseball's Post-Season Awards. The five prestigious awards include the Charles K. Murphy Patriot Award, John Henry Moss Community Service Award, the Larry MacPhail Award, the John H. Johnson President's Award, and Rawlings Woman Executive of the Year Award. After nominees from all leagues are reviewed by the MiLB Awards Committee, recommendations are presented to the President and Executive Vice President of MiLB for a final decision. Winners will be announced and presented with awards at the Baseball Winter Meetings in December.

The Charles K. Murphy Patriot Award is presented to a club or individual employed by a club for outstanding support of and engagement with the United States Armed Forces and veterans, both at the ballpark and in the community.

The John Henry Moss Community Service Award is presented to a club that demonstrates an outstanding, on-going commitment to charitable service, support and leadership within their local community and within the baseball industry.

The Larry MacPhail Promotional Award is presented to a club that demonstrated outstanding and creative marketing and promotional efforts within its community, its ballpark (including non-game day events), in media and other promotional materials. 

The John H. Johnson President's Award honors a "complete" baseball franchise that has demonstrated franchise stability, and significant contributions to its community, league, and the baseball industry.

The Rawlings Woman Executive of the Year Award is presented to a woman who has made outstanding contributions to her club, her league or to baseball. 

The 2017 Midwest League Award Nominees:


Charles K. Murphy Patriot Award: Dayton Dragons

John Henry Moss Community Service Award: Great Lakes Loons

Larry MacPhail Promotional Award: Wisconsin TimberRattlers

John H. Johnson President's Award: Quad Cities River Bandits

Rawlings Woman Executive of the Year: Kathryn Voss, Ticket Sales Manager, Peoria Chiefs


MWL President Dick Nussbaum commented, "This year's award nominees went through a very rigorous competitive process as each award was populated with very successful, creative, and dedicated Club submissions. MWL nominees should provide MiLB with great choices when making final decisions. Congratulations to our nominees and to all of our Clubs on a great 2017 season."


The Midwest League was founded in 1947 and consists of 16 affiliated Clubs in 7 states. The 2017 season marked another year when over 4 million fans attended MWL games and made up 10% of all fans who attended Minor League Baseball games played by 160 MiLB Clubs. The Great Lakes Loons are the 2016 Midwest League Champions and have been a Single-A partner of the Los Angeles Dodgers since 2007. Dow Diamond, home of the Loons, also houses ESPN 100.9-FM and the Michigan Baseball Foundation. For tickets and more information about the Loons, call 989-837-BALL or visit Loons.com.

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More