Lopez leads Suns past Grasshoppers in series opener

By Eli Pearlstein | August 19, 2014 10:37 PM ET

HAGERSTOWN, MD - RHP Reynaldo Lopez (3-1) spun six scoreless innings on Tuesday night, helping the Hagerstown Suns (37-21, 81-47) blank the Greensboro Grasshoppers (35-23, 79-49) in the first game of a three-game series 5-0. The shutout is the 11th this season pitched by the Suns.


Lopez's six scoreless innings on Tuesday continued a stretch that now stands at 29 scoreless frames in a row tossed by the right-hander over his past five outings with Hagerstown. Lopez gave up just two hits and one walk while striking out four to earn the win. RHP Manny Rodriguez made his Hagerstown debut by throwing the final three innings for the Suns, picking up the three-inning save. He gave up just one hit while striking out three.


Offensively the majority of the damage was done for the Suns in the bottom of the third. The leadoff batter in the inning, CF Rafael Bautista, got hit by a pitch. Two batters later, LF Narciso Mesa tripled to right to make it 1-0 Hagerstown. That started a string of three consecutive extra-base hits. Catcher Spencer Kieboom followed with a double to right, and 3B Drew Ward capped off the string with a two-run blast over the right field wall for his 10th homerun of the season, making it 4-0 Suns.


The final Hagerstown run crossed the plate the next inning thanks to a fielding error committed by 2B Avery Romero. All five Suns run were charged to starting RHP Jose Adames (1-2), who went four innings and allowed five hits and five walks while striking out three as he suffered the loss. The Greensboro bullpen gave up just one hit over the final four frames.


These two teams continue their three-game series at Municipal Stadium on Wednesday August 20. The Suns will send RHP Nick Pivetta (12-8) to the mound for his 23rd start and 24th appearance of the year. He will square off against RHP Ryan Wertenberger (1-1) for Greensboro. First pitch is scheduled for 7:05pm.

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More