Hops Mascot Named Grand Marshal of Parade

Rotary 4th of July Parade will feature Hops Mascot

April 26, 2013 6:48 AM ET

Hillsboro, OR (April 26, 2013) - The Hillsboro Hops (@HillsboroHops) announced today that their team mascot will be the Grand Marshal at the Hillsboro Rotary 4th of July Parade.

The Name the Mascot Contest is currently running in all Hillsboro School District elementary and middle schools. Students are allowed one submission each and the contest will run through the end of the month.

Hillsboro Hops staff will also accompany the team mascot at the parade on July 4th, throwing out candy and special prizes to those in attendance.

The Hillsboro Rotary 4th of July Parade will begin at 10am in downtown Hillsboro. For more information about the parade, visit www.hillsbororotary.org.

"We're thrilled that the Hops mascot will be the Grand Marshal of the Hillsboro Rotary 4th of July Parade," said Hillsboro Hops owner Mike McMurray. "We love being involved in the local community and this will be a great way to continue to introduce people to our team and our new mascot."

The Hillsboro Hops will play their first season in Oregon after moving from Yakima, Washington. The team will begin their 76-game regular season on Friday, June 14th with a three-game series against the Salem-Keizer Volcanoes in Salem. The Hops will make their home debut in their 4500 capacity new state-of-the-art stadium in Hillsboro on Monday, June 17th when they play host to Eugene Emeralds for a three-game series. For a complete 2013 Hillsboro Hops schedule, click here.

Hillsboro Hops season tickets are ON SALE NOW by calling 503.640.0887 or by going online.

About Hillsboro Hops:
The Hillsboro Hops are the Single-A baseball affiliate of the Arizona Diamondbacks of Major League Baseball. The team's season runs from mid-June to early September. The franchise relocated to Hillsboro in 2012 and will begin play in 2013 in a new state-of-the-art 4,500 seat stadium. The Hops are part of the 58-year old Northwest League, which includes teams in Boise, Eugene, Salem-Keizer, Tri-Cities, Spokane, Everett and Vancouver BC. Major League stars who rose to prominence via the Northwest League include Ken Griffey Jr., Felix Hernandez, Edgar Martinez, Reggie Jackson, Ozzie Smith, Rickey Henderson and Tony Gwynn. Follow the Hops on Facebook at www.facebook.com/HillsboroHops and on Twitter at www.twitter.com/HillsboroHops.

















This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More