Suns too hot over final 8 innings

Second rounder Danish works 2.0 scoreless innings

By Josh Feldman / Kannapolis Intimidators | August 30, 2013 6:27 PM ET

KANNAPOLIS, N.C. (August 30, 2013) -- The Hagerstown Suns kept the Kannapolis Intimidators off the scoreboard over the final eight innings en route to an 8-2 win on Friday at CMC-NorthEast Stadium in the first game of the final series of the regular season.  

Ian Dickson (5-3) bounced back from a 2-run first inning to allow just one base runner over the next five innings to earn the win. Relievers Christian Meza and Gilberto Mendez picked up where Dickson left off, as Kannapolis was limited to just three base runners over the final eight innings.

Kannapolis took a 2-0 lead in the first inning when Jason Coats doubled to score Tim Anderson. Mike Marjama followed with a two-out single to plate Coats. The Suns evened the score, 2-2, in the second inning on a Wes Schill two-run single.  

The Suns jumped in front in the fifth inning when Wander Ramos singled to score Tony Renda. Ramos later crossed the plate on a wild pitch for a 4-2 lead. All nine Hagerstown batters hit safely as the Suns pounded out 12 hits.  

Frank Montas (5-11) took the loss for Kannapolis despite matching his career-high with nine strikeouts over 4 2/3 innings. He allowed four runs on seven hits with three walks.  

Tyler Danish, the White Sox second round pick in the June 2013 First-Year Player Draft, spun 2.0 scoreless innings in what was expected to be his final appearance of his professional debut season. The 18-year-old right-hander struck out two batters and allowed a hit, giving him 4.0 scoreless innings over two appearances with Kannapolis.  

The Intimidators and Suns play Game 2 of this four-game series on Saturday at CMC-NorthEast Stadium with post-game fireworks presented by Bank of America and East Coast Pyrotechnic. For ticket and promotional information, fans can call the F&M Bank Box Office at (704) 932-3267 or visit

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More