I-Cubs Announce 2014 Schedule

The Cubs open the 2014 season on Thursday, April 3 at Principal Park. (Ellie Walter)

By Iowa Cubs | October 21, 2013 11:01 AM ET

Des Moines, IA - The Iowa Cubs are pleased to announce their schedule and home game times for the 2014 season. The upcoming campaign will be the 46th season of triple-A baseball in Des Moines and the club's 34th season as the top affiliate of the Chicago Cubs.

Opening Day will be a 6:35 start on Thursday, April 3 at Principal Park against the Memphis Redbirds, the PCL affiliate of the St. Louis Cardinals, in the first of 19 home games for the club in April. Monday through Thursday night games will begin at 6:35 p.m. from the beginning of the season until Memorial Day, move to 7:05 p.m in June and July, and go back to 6:35 p.m. in August. There will be 12 midweek games throughout the season that will begin at 12:05 p.m. These games feature special ticket pricing for schools and are prime opportunities for companies to take advantage of group, picnic, and skybox offerings.  

All Friday and Saturday games will begin at 7:05 PM throughout the year and there will be post-game fireworks sponsored by Mediacom after every Friday contest. Sundays will feature 1:05 PM starts. The Cubs are also home for Memorial Day on Monday, May 26, and wrap up the regular season at home on Labor Day, Monday, September 1. Both holiday games will begin at 12:05 p.m.

This year's schedule also features two planned double-headers on Saturday, July 12 and Sunday, July 27. The games on July 12 will be played as a day/night double-header with the first game starting at 1:05 p.m. and the second game beginning at 7:05 p.m.

The PCL has a new look this season with the San Diego Padres affiliate moving from Tucson, Arizona to El Paso, Texas. The El Paso club will visit Principal Park for the first time for a four-game series, June 17-20. With the change also came a realignment of the PCL's four divisions. Iowa and Omaha remain in the American Northern Division, but will be joined by Colorado Springs and Oklahoma City this season. Memphis and Nashville, formerly of the American North, shift to the American South with New Orleans and Round Rock. Albuquerque shifts to the Pacific South with El Paso, Las Vegas, and Salt Lake. Fresno, Reno, Sacramento, and Tacoma make up the Pacific Northern Division.

Season ticket packages for the 2014 season are on sale now. For more information, fans can contact the ticket office at (515) 243-6111 or visit iowacubs.com.

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More