Three IronPigs nominated for MiLBY Awards

You can vote for Hoskins, Kingery and Crawford until October 20

By Lehigh Valley IronPigs | October 6, 2017 3:56 PM ET


ALLENTOWN, Pa. -- Rhys Hoskins, Scott Kingery and J.P. Crawford have been nominated for Minor League Baseball Yearly (MiLBY) Awards.

Rhys Hoskins, Offensive Player of the Year nominee

Hoskins, the International League's Most Valuable Player and Rookie of the Year, hit a team-record 29 home runs in 2017. The first baseman played 115 games for the IronPigs, batting .284 with 91 RBIs before having his contract selected by the Phillies in August.

Hoskins then took Major League Baseball by storm, becoming the fastest player to hit 18 home runs (just 34 games).

CLICK HERE to vote Hoskins for Offensive Player of the Year

Scott Kingery, Breakout Player & Offensive Player of the Year nominee

Kingery started the season in Double-A with Reading before joining the IronPigs in late June. In 63 games, he batted .294 with 8 home runs, 21 RBIs and 10 stolen bases on 12 tries. He played 132 games between Reading and the Lehigh Valley this season batting .304 with 65 RBIs, 26 home runs and 29 stolen bases.

Kingery had a franchise-record 23-game hitting streak covering much of the season's penultimate month. He was the only player in Minor League Baseball to notch both 25 home runs and 25 stolen bases in 2017.

CLICK HERE to vote Kingery for Top Breakout Prospect | CLICK HERE to vote Kingery for Offensive Player of the Year

J.P. Crawford, Top Play nominee

Crawford was nominated for the season's best play for his incredible 6-3 putout of Norfolk Tides' catcher Francisco Peña. Crawford dashed to his right to collect a hard grounder in the left field grass before jumping up into his throwing motion to prevent the base hit.

CLICK HERE to vote Crawford for Top Play of 2017

In addition to the IronPigs player nominees, the Phillies Organization has been nominated for the Best Farm System award.

Voting for the MiLBYs is now open and runs through Oct. 20. Winners will be unveiled from Oct. 24-Nov. 2.

Click here to view all nominees and to cast your votes.

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More