Pigs Begin Road Trip Against Paw Sox

Team Hits Road For Seven-Game Road Trip

By Lehigh Valley IronPigs | June 19, 2017 1:41 PM ET

The IronPigs (45-24) and Pawtucket Red Sox (34-32) begin their four-game series tonight at McCoy Stadium. First pitch is scheduled for 7:05 p.m.

The Pigs will send RHP Mark Appel (4-3,5.71) against Red Sox RHP Shawn Haviland (3-4, 3.36).Today's starting pitching matchup is presented by Allentown Family Foot Care, which provides the latest in medical and surgical treatments of the entire foot and ankle. Learn more at affc.com.

RHP Mark Appel makes his 14th start for the Pigs tonight. In his last outing, the Dallas native lost his third decision of the year as he surrendered four runs on eight hits in five 2/3 innings.

RHP Shawn Haviland makes his 12th start for the Paw Sox tonight after a no decision in his last start on June 14 at Syracuse. The Middletown, CT native tossed five 1/3 innings, allowing three runs on three hits in the Paw Sox 8-7 loss.

Dylan Cozens  launched his International League leading 16th home run of the season, and Pedro Florimon  chipped in his fourth on the campaign as the IronPigs (45-24) held on for a 4-3 series-clinching victory over the Syracuse Chiefs (21-44) Sunday afternoon before 10,100 fans at Coca-Cola Park. It marks the sixth-consecutive capacity sell out and seventh overall capacity sell out this season.

After Pigs starter Mark Leiter  tossed a three-up-three-down top of the first, Cozens capped off a two-run bottom half of the inning with a solo home run to right-center field to give the Pigs a 2-0 lead. Cameron Perkins  who led off the inning with a double to left-center, came around to score on Jorge Alfaro  groundout to the shortstop.

The Pigs added a run in the fourth and fifth innings to take a commanding 4-0 lead. Angelo Mora  continued his hot start to his Triple-A career as he sent a one-out double to right-center field and advanced to third on a throwing error. Jorge Flores  then singled home Mora to stretch the Pigs lead to 3-0.

Florimon then led off the fifth inning with a solo shot to right-center field to give the Pigs a 4-0 cushion.

Leiter was spot on in his first win of the season with the Pigs, tossing six scoreless innings and only allowed two second inning hits while fanning six Chiefs batters. The right-hander tossed five three-up-three-down innings, with the lone exception being the second inning.

As soon as Leiter's day was done, the Chiefs bats woke up as Colton Murray  entered the game for the Pigs. In the seventh inning, the Chiefs struck for two runs to cut the Pigs lead in half. Andrew Stevenson  plated Brandon Snyder , who led off the inning with a double, on a fielder's choice ground out. Caleb Ramsey  then scored Stevenson on a RBI single to left field.

Wilmer Difo  then came in to score in the eighth inning as Snyder drove him in with an RBI Single to right. Pigs reiliever Pat Venditte  then rebounded and struck out the side to end the Chiefs threat and preserved the 4-3 lead.

Jesen Therrien  then came on in the top of the ninth looking for his first career Triple-A save. After giving up two singles, Therrien got Ramsey to bounce into a fielder's choice and then struck out Difo and Irving Falu  bounced into a groundout to end the game.

The 2017 Season is the IronPigs 10th Anniversary season at Coca-Cola Park and 10th as the top affiliate of the Philadelphia Phillies. The IronPigs are debuting the brand-new Bacon, USA, Membership Program this season -- a year-round IronPigs experience pass featuring numerous new amenities such as savings on parking at games and at the Majestic Clubhouse Store at Coca-Cola Park, on-field VIP access to watch batting practice, access to an annual holiday party, an invitation to an exclusive player and coaches photo session and more. For more information, visit ironpigsbaseball.com or call (610) 841-PIGS (7447). Memberships and group outings are on sale now.

The 2017 IronPigs baseball season is presented by Capital BlueCross.

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More