Florida State League Announces Scholarship Winners

July 14, 2017 3:21 PM

CLEARWATER, Florida -  The Florida State League Scholarship Committee today announced the winners of the 2017 Florida State League/ Miami Marlins Scholarships. 

This is the eighteenth (18) straight year for the program and is funded by the Miami Marlins and the Florida State League. Each scholarship has a monetary value of $1,500 and is presented to a student employee, child or grandchild of an employee. A total of 216 scholarships have been awarded to qualified applicants since the inception of the program.

The Miami Marlins provide a generous contribution to the scholarship program. The purpose of the program is to encourage and reward our school age applicants and send a message that an education is the key to success in life.

All winners will be guests of the Florida Marlins at Marlins Park on July 30, 2017 and will be recognized in an on-field pregame introduction.

The 2017 winners are as follows:

Bradenton Marauders: Joseph Schneider

Charlotte Stone Crabs: Mackenna Stella Radunz

Clearwater Threshers: Cameron Soltau

Daytona Tortugas: Cameron Wood/Anderson Rathbun

Dunedin Blue Jays: Kelsey McIntosh

Fort Myers Miracle: Mason Wilbanks

Jupiter Hammerheads: Feliciano Grimaldo

Lakeland Flying Tigers: Lexi Hicks

Palm Beach Cardinals: Kyle Nagy

St. Lucie Mets: Mario Pietroluongo

Tampa Yankees: Lyndsay Kane

About the Florida State League

Founded in 1919, the Florida State League is an Advanced Class-A level professional baseball league. The league features affiliates from 12 different Major League Baseball organizations (Blue Jays, Braves, Cardinals, Marlins, Mets, Phillies, Pirates, Rays, Reds, Tigers, Twins and Yankees). For more information, call Ken Carson 727-224-8244.

View More