Cougars Announce 2019 Opening Night Roster

By Kane County Cougars | April 2, 2019 10:23 AM

GENEVA, Ill. - The Kane County Cougars, in conjunction with the Arizona Diamondbacks, have announced the organization's Opening Night roster for the 2019 season. The incoming group of 25 players arrived from the D-backs spring training complex earlier this week and will take the field for Opening Night on Thursday, April 4 at 6:30 PM against the Clinton LumberKings.

PITCHERS: Erin Baldwin, Jackson Goddard, Kenny Hernandez, Ethan Larrison, Justin Lewis, Ryan Miller, Chester Pimentel, Wesley Rodriguez, Franklyn Soriano, Andy Toelken, Justin Vernia, Ryan Weiss, Blake Workman

CATCHERS: Zachery Almond, Jose Herrera, Andy Yerzy

INFIELDERS: David Garza, Alex King, Brandon Leyton, Geraldo Perdomo, L.T. Tolbert

OUTFIELDERS: Eduardo Diaz, Tra Holmes, Jorge Perez, Alek Thomas

Short Hops

• Four players spent time with the Cougars during the 2018 season including Franklyn Soriano, Jose Herrera, Eduardo Diaz and Tra Holmes.

• Alek Thomas and Ryan Weiss are familiar to the Kane County area. Weiss is a native of nearby South Elgin, Ill. where he attended South Elgin High School before committing to Wright State University. He was selected by the Diamondbacks in Round 4 of the 2018 Draft. Thomas was born in Chicago, Ill. and attended Mt. Carmel High School. Selected in Round 2 of the 2018 Draft by the Diamondbacks, Thomas' father, Allen, is currently in his 16th season as the Director of Conditioning for the Chicago White Sox.

• Six players enter the season ranked in the D-Backs Top 30 Prospects by Perdomo is currently ranked No. 6 followed by Thomas at No. 7, Yerzy at No. 12, Weiss at No. 18, Diaz at No. 25 and Goddard at No. 29. 

Cougars manager, Vince Harrison, begins his first season as a manager after spending last season as the hitting coach for the Double-A Jackson Generals. He is no stranger to Kane County as he previously served as the hitting coach during the 2015 anniversary season as a part of Mark Grudzielanek's staff. Harrison will be joined in the dugout by pitching coach Mike Parrott, hitting coach Micah Franklin, coach Carlos Mesa, athletic trainer Kelly Boyce and strength and conditioning coordinator Tim Queck.

Gates for the Cougars 2019 Opening Night festivities will open at 5:30 p.m. The first 1,500 fans in attendance will receive an Opening Night cap, courtesy of Northwestern Medicine. Fans can participate in a pre-game autograph session with the opportunity to run the bases following the game (weather permitting). Thirsty Thursday specials, presented by Miller Lite, will also be available with $1 beers, sodas and hot dogs.

Follow the Cougars on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram for all the up to date promotional information.

About the Kane County Cougars

The Cougars, Class-A Minor League affiliate of the Arizona Diamondbacks, have been at the forefront of family-friendly entertainment since 1991. In 2015, the franchise became the first Class-A team in Minor League Baseball history to welcome 11 million fans through the gates. A total of 173 former Cougars have reached the Major Leagues including Miguel Cabrera, Nelson Cruz, Josh Beckett, Adrian Gonzalez and Kyle Schwarber.


This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More