Thomas Takes Home Top Honor as 2019 Midwest League All-Stars Announced

Cougars outfielder named Most Valuable Player following Mid-Season All-Star recognition

(Emily Jones/

By Kane County Cougars | August 27, 2019 3:22 PM

GENEVA, Ill. - The Kane County Cougars, in conjunction with the Midwest League office, have announced that outfielder Alek Thomas has been named a Midwest League Post-Season All-Star and Most Valuable Player as selected by the field managers from all 16 Midwest League teams.

Thomas also received Midwest League Mid-Season All-Star recognition, participating in the league's All-Star Game which was held this past June in South Bend, Ind. He joins an exclusive list of Cougars alumni, including Kevin Millar and Dontrelle Willis as players who have received both All-Star awards in the same season, bringing the organization's total to 30 players in franchise history.

Thomas, who was promoted to Advanced-A Visalia in early August, still leads active Cougars players with a .312 batting average and 63 runs scored.

Cougars Who Have Been Named Mid-Season and Post-Season Midwest League All-Stars
Alek Thomas - 2019
Marcus Wilson - 2017
Sam McWilliams - 2017
Tommy Eveld - 2017
Trevor Mitsui - 2016
Rock Shoulders - 2013
Greg Billo - 2011
Ian Krol - 2010
Kenny Smalley - 2009
Larry Cobb - 2008
Jeff Baisley - 2006
Javier Herrera - 2005
Steve Bondurant - 2004
Brad Knox - 2004
Brian Stavisky - 2003
Jason Stokes - 2002
Dontrelle Willis - 2002
Miguel Cabrera - 2001
Adrian Gonzalez - 2001
Jim Kavourias - 2001
David Noyce - 1999
Matt Erickson - 1998
Quincy Foster - 1998
Ross Gload - 1998
Todd Dunwoody - 1995
Ryan Jackson - 1995
Billy McMillon - 1994
Kevin Millar - 1994
Charles Johnson - 1993
Alex Ochoa - 1992


The Cougars begin their penultimate homestand against the Burlington Bees on Saturday, August 31 at Northwestern Medicine Field. Homestand highlights include Star Wars Night, a pre-game concert from Mr. Myers Band and the final fireworks shows of the season with the homestand wrapping up on Monday, September 2 with half-price craft and premium beers plus $5 reserved and lawn tickets.

To order tickets, call the box office at 630-232-8811 or visit

For updates throughout the remainder of the regular season and the playoffs follow the Cougars on Twitter, Facebook or Instagram.

About the Kane County Cougars

The Cougars, Class-A Minor League affiliate of the Arizona Diamondbacks, have been at the forefront of family-friendly entertainment since 1991. In 2015, the franchise became the first Class-A team in Minor League Baseball history to welcome 11 million fans through the gates. A total of 180 former Cougars have reached the Major Leagues including Miguel Cabrera, Nelson Cruz, Josh Beckett, Adrian Gonzalez and Kyle Schwarber and Willson Contreras.


This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More